Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Five Things Friday Logo

A new month. Here we are. I feel like so often I’ve been saying “oh my gosh, a new month already?!” However this time is different. With the amount of things I crammed in I feel like July was pretty long…in a completely good way!

To summarize it in five pictures may be tough, but here goes nothing…

FIVE SNAPSHOTS OF JULY

OLDER AND WISER

Not only was it my first trip to California but I can now say I spent my 30th birthday overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge. Z did an amazing job planning an unforgettable trip to celebrate this birthday milestone.

K's 30th birthday in San Francisco

BABY ON BOARD

My dearest, darling, Denise is anxiously awaiting the arrival of her little boy in a mere four weeks! The day after arriving home from California was her shower decked out in oranges and greys (in the spirit of the Baltimore Orioles).

Pregnant Denise

RESEARCH IN FLORIDA

I was excited to be offered the opportunity to travel to Florida to participate in a field research study of wild dolphins. Over the course of five days I learned about field research and got to observe the behavior of the dolphins that call that area home. It was such a fun experience and I learned lots!

K taking pictures during research

SNACKTIME

Before leaving Florida I got the chance to visit my friend Justin who works at Busch Gardens. He showed us around the place and even arranged some behind-the-scenes experiences for us. One of my favorites? Feeding romaine to this hungry giraffe. Look at those lips!

K feeding a giraffe at Busch Gardens Tampa

INHERITED

I certainly cannot have a monthly update and not include my furry feline friends. The neighbor children who had been interacting with (and I assume feeding) the kittens have all but vanished. Really…I haven’t seen the kids in about a month. So odd.

When I returned from Florida I looked out on the porch to see one of the black kittens investigating. I put down some food and she INHALED it. She was extremely friendly and seemingly grateful for not only the food, but the attention as well. Slowly but surely her sister, the runt of the litter, has gained the courage to come over as well.

I put out our old dog bed and find these two cuddled up on it most of the day. They are adorable and well behaved. Could we have possible inherited these little ladies??

Black kittens on porch

I want to know…

What was the highlight of July for YOU?

Anything fun on the agenda for August?