Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am back with the last installment of our California adventure!

SUCH A TOURIST…

My 30th birthday was spent being the ultimate San Francisco tourist.

It started with a scenic overlook of the Golden Gate bridge.

K's 30th birthday in San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge

Followed by a stop at the Full House house (I couldn’t resist).

K in front of Full House house in San Francisco

Lunch was simple: a stop at a local market and picnic in a park.

Z at birthday picnic in San Francisco Park

After food we drove down Lombard Street. So super touristy but hey, at least we can say we’ve done it.

Curviest Stree in San Fran-Lombard Street

We marveled at all of the city’s steep hills. I can’t imagine what it would be like to walk to work in this town!

Z on steep hill in San Francisco

Our final destination was Fisherman’s Wharf, where our hotel for the night would be. The area itself is once again super touristy but I enjoyed the nautical ambience.

Fisherman's Wharf Sign San Francisco

The marine mammalogist in me was excited at the prospect sea lions galore, but Pier 39 was all but empty. I learned that in the summers the animals migrate south for breeding. Oh well (I’ll have to settle for living vicariously through the live webcam).

Pier 39 Sea Lions San Francisco

Per my Mom’s suggestion we headed to Ghiradelli square and browsed the super cute shops. The Ghiradelli store was the perfect birthday treat. Z and I loaded up on quite the sampling of flavors (my favorite ended up being Cinnamon Crunch and Cherry Torte).

K with chocolate at Ghiradelli Square San Francisco

We capped off the day with a dinner by the water. After all, you can’t go to Fisherman’s wharf and NOT have seafood.

Birthday seafood dinner at Fisherman's Wharf

We then settled in to our delightfully nautical, fancy schmancy hotel, The Argonaut. They had fresh complimentary cucumber mint water in the lobby and everything…that’s serious.

The Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

My birthday-day ended in the most “me” way possible: cuddled in an over sized bathrobe, piece of Ghiradelli chocolate in hand. I was in my happy place.

K with bathrobe and chocolate

CALIFORNIA DREAMING

My first time in California was nothing short of a success. Wine tasting in Napa, camping in Redding,— I told Z on the flight there, “I’m never going to want to leave, am I?” Sure enough, I was right. The weather, the people, the produce, the landscapes…

Not that living behind a downtrodden shopping center with with a hoppin’ Chuck E. Cheese isn’t great and all…but I could totally see myself as a northern Californian someday. In the mean time I’ll be California dreamin’.

 

I want to know…

When is the last time you did something SUPER touristy?

Where was it and what did you do?

