Tags

, ,

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin front cover

Month 5: Be Serious About Play

We’ve gone over work, we’ve gone over family and home life, but another big aspect contributing to happiness is how you spend your free time. In order to live a happy balanced life you must make time for “play”. In the book it is defined as:

“…an activity that’s very satisfying, has no economic significance, doesn’t create social harm, and doesn’t necessarily lead to praise or recognition [113].”

Goals for the month:

The Happiness Project: Chapter 5 goals

Favorite Quotes

The Happiness Project: Chapter 5 quote

The Happiness Project: Chapter 5 quote

The Happiness Project: Chapter 5 quote

REAL LIFE APPLICATIONS

The aspect I could relate to most was what she mentioned in the quote above—just because something was fun for someone else, doesn’t mean it’s fun for me.

I remember discussing this concept with Jenna when she first read the book and we both agreed that it’s a valuable lesson in self-identity. So often we try and be “people pleasers” and go along with things because we feel we’re supposed or we should. However at the end of the day it’s YOUR life and if it’s not benefitting you, then don’t do it! Simple as that!

For example:

Spending a birthday staying out late, rocking out to karaoke in a bar that serves beverages out of red solo cups used to be fun. I LOVED it.K singing karaoke

But now I find more more enjoyment out of spending my birthdays like this:

K birthday picnic at sandy point state park md

Seeing as how I don’t really drink and my bedtime is 9pm, no more late nights out at the bar for this girl. Being groggy and tired the next day is just not worth it anymore. While these types of outings may still be fun for people my age I’ve come to realize that it’s simply not for me….and that’s ok.

I have come to realize that it’s ok to decline invitations to join in activities that I know just aren’t for me. There will be other opportunities and to ensure that…I create them myself! Such as the dinner parties that Z and I host.

K and Z dinner party with friends

There’s something about chit chatting with friends over a home-cooked meal that I just adore.

So be yourself. Find what’s fun for YOU and make time for it.

I want to know…

What’s an activity that you do that is “satisfying, has no economic significance, doesn’t create social harm, and doesn’t necessarily lead to praise or recognition “? How do you “play”?

