Tags

, , , ,

On Monday I shared the secret to keeping my sanity on my commute: audiobooks. I. Am. Loving them!

Seeing as how my commute is anywhere from 19m-40m depending on what shift I work (no one’s on the road at 5:45am!), 5 days a week, I’ve been going through the books quite quickly. I breezed through Ellen’s “Seriously Though…I’m kidding,” and enjoyed it so much that for my next listen I chose something similar.

HOW MINDY KALING WON ME OVER

Up until recently I wasn’t fond of Mindy Kaling. There is no one particular reason, really. I don’t watch The Office. I don’t watch her current show. I’m not really sure where the dislike came from. Her voice maybe??

However after reading so many positive reviews I decided to succumb to peer pressure and give her book a try. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)

I am happy to report I really enjoyed it! Who would have thought??

It essentially is a witty, humorous, often times relatable memoir of her life. She covers everything from body image issues in middle school to “what Steve Carrell is really like.”

Seeing as how I wasn’t really familiar with her prior to this, I walked away learning quite a lot and gaining a new found appreciation for Mindy.

It turned out to be a nice, light-hearted accompaniment for my drive.

LIFE LESSONS FROM MINDY

On faking it until you making it…

“Sometimes you just have to put on lip gloss and pretend to be psyched.”
Mindy Kaling

On family…

“Later, when you’re grown up, you realize you never really get to hang out with your family. You pretty much have only eighteen years to spend with them full time, and that’s it.”
Mindy Kaling, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

On relationships…

“As my mom has said, when one person is unhappy, it usually means two people are unhappy but that one has not come to terms with it yet.”
Mindy Kaling, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

On friendships…

“Nothing gives you confidence like being a member of a small, weirdly specific, hard-to-find demographic.”
Mindy Kaling, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

 

OPEN TO SUGGESTIONS

As I mentioned I’m about to finish my latest audiobook and need to brainstorm a new one. Let me know your thoughts!

(p.s. Let’s be friends on Good Reads so we can be book nerds together).

