Tags

, , , , , ,

Whew. It was a busy weekend. I feel like I need a day off from my days off. Anyone else ever feel like that?

Despite my best efforts, two consecutive nights of less than stellar sleep left my energy level far below where it needed it to be in terms of getting things done.

Instead of focusing on the things I wasn’t able to accomplish it’s probably smarter to focus on did get done.

But before I get to all that…

BIRTHDAY WISHES

I must first and foremost wish my brother a Happy Cinco de Birthday! Can we both stop getting older?!? My goodness time sure does fly…

Z, K and Kevin

THE PACKING BEGINS

After 7+ years living in Fells Point here in downtown Baltimore it’s time for a change. We are fleeing the hustle and bustle of the city for the peace and quiet of the suburbs. More on that to come…

Packing up our living room

We’ve been in our current house for two years so as you can imagine, packing it all up is going to be a process. My parents came down Friday-Saturday to help get the packing party started.

Packing up K's Office

KINETIC SCULPTURE RACE

We took a break from sorting and tossing to head down to our favorite waterfront part and catch a bit of the American Visionary Arts Museum Kinetic Sculpture Race.

AVAM Kinetic Sculpture Race 2014

Kinetic Sculptures are amphibious, human powered works of art custom built for the race. Each May, the American Visionary Art Museum (AVAM) hosts the East Coast Kinetic Sculpture Race Championship on the shore of Baltimore’s Harbor in central Maryland.  The eight-hour race covers 14 miles—mostly on pavement, but also including a trip into the Chesapeake Bay and through mud and sand.

AVAM Kinetic Sculpture Race 2014

The structures, bicycle powered, must not only be able to race on land, but enter the harbor down a ramp, paddle around and buoy and return.

It’s quite a sight!

CREATIVE COOKING

I’m in the process of working with an RD to help me nail down my food intolerances. I’m so excited to have a professional as my ally in all this.

As a part of it she has asked me to cut out any and all forms of wheat and gluten. That means that my typical spelt breakfast toast is out for the next couple of weeks. She also asked me to limit my nuts/seed intake which means any of my almond flour options are also off the table.

In an effort to adapt I headed to the kitchen armed with a bag of Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free oat flour and tested out a few different concoctions of oat flatbread-pancake-ish things.

Gluten free oat flour pancake

I was pretty pleased with the results. Nothing overly fancy or complicated but a good flavor that will provide a nice base to chicken salad, ginger spread, or even my allotted 1TBSP/day nut butter.

 

So despite lack of sleep and all the packing/moving leaving me a bit frazzled, I did manage to get some things done. Something’s better than nothing!

 

I want to know…

How would you define YOUR weekend? Relaxing and restful? Or busy and productive?

What was the highlight?

