Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Five Things Friday Logo updated

Hello May. How nice to see you!

No, seriously. Thank GOODNESS we are one month closer to summer time.

Besides being my brother’s birthday, Monday is Cinco de Mayo. I’ve dabbled in celebrations over the years. Usually involving things like tacos + margarito/mojito beverages.

K and Z at La Puerta Azul New York

If you’re looking for inspiration for this year’s holiday, look no further because I’ve rounded up five options for you!

FIVE RECIPES FOR CINCO DE MAYO

HOMEMADE SALSA

Salsa Ranchera ~ Patsy Catsos

There’s nothing like fresh-homemade salsa. The stuff in the jar just doesn’t come close. This version is “Kerry friendly” in that it uses garlic infused olive oil instead of actual onion. Cilantro is my favorite part of salsa so if I made this recipe I’d be sure to load it up with it!

Salsa Ranchera from Flavor without FODMAPs Cookbook

MAKE YOUR OWN CHIPS

Baked Cumin Tortilla Chips ~The Healthy Apple

Forget the added oil and tons of salt that store-bought varieties can have. Making your own tortilla chips is simple: tortilla triangles + oven = win.

Baked Cumin Tortilla Chips

SLOW COOKER SPECIALTY

Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Tostadas ~ Kate Scarlata, RD

Make this easy crock pot recipe and have dinner waiting for you when you get home from work on Monday. Isn’t that one of the best feelings??

Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Tostadas

FISH TACOS

Tilapia Tacos w/ Mango Salsa (aka. Amy’s Fish Tacos)

Remember when I shared with you my friend Amy’s recipe? Now would be a perfect reason to try it.

Amy's tilapia fish tacos with homemade mango salsa and greek yogurt avocado sauce

SENSATIONAL SEAFOOD

Honey Cilantro Shrimp ~ My Mom

Although not quite the classic Mexican flavor combination, this is still one of the best shrimp dishes I’ve ever had. More cilantro—can’t beat that!

Honey Lime Cilantro Grilled Shrimp | The Adventures of Z & K

Inspired now?

 

I want to know…

Are you celebrating Cinco de Mayo in some way/shape/form this year?

What type of food do you usually prepare?

