Tags

, , , , , ,

Since I’m obsessed with my spiralizer I decided to bring it along with me to New York so that I could show my family what all my excitement was about.

Paderno Spiralizer from Williams and Sonoma

I didn’t want to create some kind of elaborate recipe but rather stick with something straight forward so that my parents could truly appreciate just how much these veggie strands end up like pasta.

Therefore I decided to go with a classic: “spaghetti” and meatballs.

I headed to my Pinterest board for turkey meatball recipes sans onion/garlic/wheat/etc. The result was a hybrid of two recipes both containing classic meatloaf flavors.

Turkey Meatloaf Meatballs on baking sheet

Ground turkey seasoned with fresh and dried herbs, held together by a bit of cheese and oats.

Once the meatballs were in the oven, Mom set out preparing the integral ingredient.

Zucchini

Her first time spiralizing! So easy even lefties can do it!

Mom's first time using spiralizer

A thing of beauty.

Spiralized zucchini noodles

The noodles didn’t need very long to cook (they can get soggy after awhile). It was just enough time to heat the noodles in some sauce before tossing together.

Turkey meatballs and zucchini noodles cooking in sauce on stove

Seems simple enough, right? Wondering how you can make this tasty dish at home?

TURKEY MEATLOF MEATBALLS

Adapted from: Serif & Spice & Gluten-Free Goddess
Makes: 25 medium sized meatballs

Ingredients

MEATBALLS

1 1/2 lb. ground turkey

½c fresh parsley

1tsp dried basil

1/3tsp dried thyme

1/2tsp dried rosemary

1/2tsp pepper

1/2tsp salt

1/4c Romano cheese (grated)

1/4c Irish quick cooking oats

1tbsp balsamic vinegar

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.

Using hands, roll into balls (ping-pong sized).

Place meatballs onto a greased baking sheet.

Bake for 20-25m or until cooked through.

ZUCCHINI NOODLES

3 zucchini (medium)

Use spiralizer to create noodles (I used the medium sized blade).

Drizzle olive oil into pan and cook noodles for 5min or until tender.

Once cooked toss with meatballs and sauce. Serve and enjoy! Meatloaf Turkey Meatballs with Zucchini Noodles and Pasta Sauce

THE RESULT

THE MEATBALLS & NOODLES

Not your classic Italian meatball.

The flavors of meatloaf brought about by the rosemary and thyme were subtle but a nice twist.

The noodles were great. You could hardly tell it wasn’t pasta. Even my Dad, a man who is by nature very difficult to impress when it comes to this kind of thing, gave it a thumbs up.

THE SAUCE

Another great part of this meal was the fact that I was able to find tomato sauce without onion or garlic! This is practically unheard of. The Holy Grail of Italian eating for me. Mario Batali Neopolitan Pizza Sauce

Ingredients: Imported San Marzano Plum Tomatoes, Tomato Puree, Imported Italian Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Anchovies, Fresh Basil, Sea Salt, Ground Black Pepper.

I’ve found I have better luck when I look under the “pizza sauces” as opposed to marinara. Mr. Batali really came through for me this time.

I want to know…

What is your favorite flavor/brand of pasta sauce?

Have you ever made your own meatballs? If so, what do YOU put in them?

Have you ever tried zucchini noodles? What did you think?!

