Tags

, ,

Today is my Mom’s birthday.

Mom playing with my hair in St. Lucia

When I asked if there was anything in particular she wanted she said not really. All she wanted was a card and something to let her know we remembered and we were thinking of her.

Well Mom, your card is on its way (couldn’t find a mail box with an early enough pick up time) as are the gifts (standard shipping). So in the mean time this is my way of letting you know I did indeed remember and that Z and I are thinking of you today!

THE BIRDWATCHER

Anyone who knows my mother knows she’s an avid birdwatcher.

Birds are her thing. It’s what she does.

Mom feeding bird in Kaui, HI

Kauai, HI

As a result, binoculars are a consistent accessory for her. In fact on any given day she has a pair in her car, one in my Dad’s car, a pair in the living room, the bedroom AND one by the back door of the house where her many bird feeders are.

Mom with binoculars

Salt Point, NY

So now I present to you a tribute to my Mom…and her binoculars. Through many travels, trips, treks and tours they are always there!

Horseback Riding in Tiskita Lodge, Costa Rica

Puntarenas, Costa Rica

Bird watching in Kauai, Hawaii

Kauai, HI

Hiking Arenal Volcano Costa Rica

Arenal, Costa Rica

Potter's Marsh mom bird watching

Anchorage, AK

Wading in the water Long Beach Island, NJ

Long Beach Island, NJ

Z, K, Mom and Dad in Florida

Kissimmee, FL

Mom and Me, Soufriere, St. Lucia with Piton

Soufriere, St. Lucia

Happy Birthday Mom! May you and your binoculars have many more adventures to come!

-K

I want to know…

What is your Mom’s “thing”? What is she known for?

