Tags

, ,

I’ve gotten myself into a rut recently when it comes to sleep.

Black and White Bedroom

Just as “they” say…I go to bed at roughly the same time every night. Granted that time is between 9-9:30pm, but hey I’m an old soul.

Just as “they” say…I stop looking at computers/phones about an hour before. I head upstairs, turn on a soft light and read in bed until my eyes get heavy.

Just as “they” say…I keep the room cool so curling up under the covers is encouraged.

Just as “they” say…I keep a fan running to provide white noise and block out any traffic noises from the street.

BUT. I find myself missing the mark on 7-8 hours of restful, restorative sleep.

Like clockwork I wake up between 12-1. Some days I fall back asleep just fine and others I toss and turn with to-do lists and tasks running through my mind. Once I silence them and finally get to sleep I’ll awake again, this time around 2-3. I feel like I could get up and start my day but this is not really a socially acceptable thing. So I toss and turn some more drifting in and out of consciousness until finally giving in and getting up somewhere between 4-5am.

The  resulting energy I have the rest of the day varies. Some days I feel fine and others I feel drained.

SLEEP: IT DOES A BODY GOOD

Importance of Sleep Quote

Sleep is SO important for your overall health. The National Sleep Foundation tells me that when you’re asleep:

  • Hormones are secreted
  • Blood pressure is lowered
  • Kidney functions change
  • Memory is consolidated

Those all seem pretty necessary, thus why I’d like to fix my sleepy situation. To me the term “insomnia” meant not being able to sleep at all at night however that same site listed the following as symptoms:

  • difficulty falling asleep
  • waking up frequently during the night
  • difficulty returning to sleep
  • waking up too early in the morning
  • unrefreshing sleep
  • daytime sleepiness
  • difficulty concentrating
  • irritability

Hmmm….sound familiar?

Apparently I’m not alone though as 30-40% of Americans experience these symptoms each year. Most often blaming stress. With my ever present mental to-do list I can relate.

So I am now on a mission. Operation SLEEP SOUNDLY has commenced.

 

(Stay tuned for part 2 where I discuss the many strategies I’ve come across after talking to friends as well as my doctor.)

