Tags

, , , , , ,

Five Things Friday Logo updated

This week I’ve shared tips, tricks and recipe inspirations from some of my travels. That being said there is still so much of the world I want to see and so much I have to learn.

[source]

I’ve been very fortunate to grow up in a family that enjoys exploring and venturing to new places. Once a year we’d hop on a plane to somewhere hew. Alongside my Mom, Dad and brother we’ve seen everything from canyons to volcanoes, reefs to glaciers.

FIVE AWESOME FAMILY VACATIONS

COSTA RICA

My family has actually gone two separate times which has allowed us to explore many different areas of the country.

imageCosta Rica

We’ve seen cloud forests, beaches and volcanoes and drank LOTS of amazing coffee along the way.

CURACAO

You may not have heard of it, but it’s the next door neighbor to Aruba, off the coast of Venezuela. imageFamily Vacation to Curacao

It’s not a huge place, and there’s not a ton to do on land, but the water is another story. It’s a diver’s paradise! After getting SCUBA certified (in a quarry in PA) we headed here for our “real” dive experience. You could literally walk right off the dock and be surrounded by amazing coral and fish galore!

Curacao was also the place where I got to live out my childhood dream: swimming with dolphins. That’s now a part of my job, but at the time it was the most amazing experience.

FLORIDA- Keys & Crystal River

It started out as a well-intentioned dive trip to the Keys over spring break. Unfortunately the weather had other ideas. High winds and choppy water meant diving was a no-go. We were determined though and road-tripped north to take advantage of Florida’s fresh water springs. imageFlorida

It was my first experience cave diving! While it’s cool to say I’ve done it, I won’t necessarily be rushing out to do it again. Being enclosed and in the dark like that is slightly unnerving. Not to mention, besides a catfish or two there’s not much in the way of wildlife for me to marvel at. It was definitely an experience though!

KAUAI, HAWAII

Kauai, known as “the garden island” is at the top of the island chain. There are no high rises or overcrowded beaches (my family avoids places like that if at all possible).

imageKaui Hawaii Collage

Did you know Kauai is home to the “grand canyon of the Pacific?” Not something that comes to mind when you think of Hawaii. We were able to spend some time on the beach, check out a local coffee plantation and eat lots of macadamia nuts. Mmmm.

ALASKA

I’m usually all about reefs and rain forests when it comes to ideal destinations, but Alaska is an exception. Absolutely, incredibly, beautifully stunning.

We started in Anchorage, drove south to Seward ( B ) then drove all the way up to Denali ( A).imageAlaska family vacation collage

The natural wonders were abundant: glaciers, moose, bears, orcas and more. It’s nice to know that true wilderness still exists.

I want to know…

What’s the best family vacation YOU ever went on?

