Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This week has been about travel (or me complaining about snow and dreaming of warmer weather).

One of the places that Z and I traveled together was Isla Mujeres, Mexico. It’s a teeny, tiny island off the coast of Cancun.

Isla Mujeres, MX mapIsla Mujeres, MX

We had ventured there to check it out as a potential wedding destination, but ultimately decided that  it was just not what we were looking for.

They did however have some amazing fish tacos. I ordered them multiple times throughout the course of the trip and was not disappointed.

Fish tacos in Isla Mujeres, MX

I started reminiscing about them after my friend Amy came into work gushing over the delicious tilapia taco recipe she made the night before.

Amy’s made an appearance here on the blog before when she wrote a guest post about the similarities of animal training and healthy living (if you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it).

She loves sharing her healthy-tasty dinner creations so I asked her if I could share with all of you as well!

She posted the recipe on her Facebook with witty commentary which I found amusing, so I went ahead and left it in its unaltered state. Enjoy!

Tilapia Tacos w/ Mango Salsa (aka. Amy’s Fish Tacos)

Amy's tilapia fish tacos with homemade mango salsa and greek yogurt avocado sauce

TILAPIA

[Start off with] 3 frozen tilapia fillets – brush on juice of fresh squeezed lime and Chipotle Tabasco sauce. Coat in mixture of 1/2 cup of bread crumbs, 1tbsp chili powder, 1tsp cumin, 1tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste – these are all estimates, I cook with my taste buds.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes or until crispy on the outside and fish flakes easily with a fork.

HOMEMADE MANGO SALSA

Fair warning, I rarely measure things and this made plenty for 2 AND leftovers.

1 med/lg tomato
1 mango – ripe but not TOO ripe. Having prepped many an animal diet, I can tell you there is nothing mushier/difficult to handle than overripe mango.
1/2 med sized red onion
1/2 a lime’s juice squeezed
1 tbsp of fresh cilantro (I think. I’m not a huge cilantro person so add more as you see fit.)
Salt to taste

Dice tomato, mango, red onion, cilantro and combine in bowl. Douse in lime juice and add salt to taste, stir until mixed thoroughly. Do not drool directly in bowl.Amy's homemade mango salsa

AVOCADO YOGURT SAUCE

[Lastly] Put ripe avocado and plain Greek yogurt (about 3/4 cup) in the food mutilator and mutilate until puréed. Add lime juice to taste. Try not to lick substance directly out of contraption in order to avoid mutilating your own tongue.

Combine all ingredients and whatever other favorite taco fixins you deem worthy in a tortilla and NOM until gone.

Take Note

  1. Amy is awesome.
  2. This looks fantastic! If you can’t travel to a tropical island you may as well eat like you are.
  3. This is not a low FODMAP recipe so it’s off the table for me. That being said if it were not for my stomach troubles I would be all over this! Make it and enjoy it in honor of those of us who can’t!

I want to know…

Have you ever been to Mexico?

How do you feel about fish tacos? Love em? Hate em?

What’s your favorite type of salsa?

