Tags

, , , ,

Today’s post is all about parsnips: newly discovered and quickly loved.

Parsnips- what they are and how to eat them from The Adventures of Z & K

I had to chuckle when my Mom posted this on Facebook recently…

parnsips comment from Mom

I too had a similar revelation.

About a month ago I decided that my stomach symptoms were stable enough to branch out and incorporate some new FODMAP friendly vegetables into my repertoire.

Kate Scarlata's list of low fodmap vegetables

[From Kate Scarlata, RD]

To be honest I had ever seen a number of the things listed on here. Bamboo shoots? Celeriac? I took some time browsing in Trader Joe’s (as opposed to rushing in/out grabbing our usual weekly staples) and came across a few new-to-me veggies. First to try: parsnips.

Trader Joe's Parsnips

They seemed innocent enough—laying right there next to the carrots (my favorite), and looking very similar in appearance. So I brought them home and the rest is history.

PARSNIPS! WHAT ARE THEY?

“This hardy root vegetable enjoys cool climates―it requires frost to convert its starches to sugars and develop its sweet, nutty flavor. Although it bears a striking resemblance to a carrot, a parsnip has pale, cream-colored skin. Its tough, woody texture softens with cooking.”- Cooking Light.

Parsnips on white surface

It is essentially is a carrot without a tan. While the two are very similar parsnips have a sweeter, creamier consistency once cooked.

FUN FACTS

  • Good source of Vitamin C, folate, and maganese.
  • 1/2 C = 55 calories, 3g fiber
  • Back in the day Europeans used them to sweeten baked goods before sugar was widely available.

PARSNIPS! HOW I EAT THEM

Parsnips

I now make them ALL the time and am always sad when I reach the end of the bowl. My go-to method of preparation is as follows:

  • Peel
  • Chop
  • Steam in microwave for 4-5 minutes
  • Serve as is or blend in food processor (for a mashed potato like consistency)
  • Top with one of the following to taste:
      • coconut oil & cinnamon
      • ghee/butter & coconut sugar/brown sugar
      • toffee stevia & pecans

I’ve also incorporated them into my homemade chicken broth and crock pot soups.

PARSNIPS! ON PINTEREST

Looking for more ideas as to how to use this tasty root vegetable? Here are some I’ve found on Pinterest that I have my eye on:

Ginger & Turmeric-Glazed Carrots & Parsnips

Paprika Parsnips Fries

Raw Carrot & Parsnip Salad

Now go forth and purchase the perfectly palatable parsnip!

-K

I want to know…

Have YOU ever tried parsnips?

If so, how did you eat them?

