Tags

, , , ,

make-it-healthy-logo-2.jpg

In an attempt to spruce up our dinner routine, Z and I have started taking turns preparing dinner for one another. The recipe is more or less a surprise and the other person is not allowed in the kitchen until it is ready.

Let me tell you when Thursday rolls around, the end of my workweek, having that night’s meal taken care of is a glorious thing.

It’s turned into a game of sorts where we try and create something tasty AND make it look nice. We then present the dish (Top Chef style) to the other person describing the preparation and ingredients. It’s a fun challenge with a small dose of healthy competition.

Round 1: Z’s Maple-Dijon Salmon

Our first night Z was down in the kitchen busily working away. He called me down and placed in front of me the following:

Maple-dijon glazed salmon w/ sautéed zucchini and carrot.

Maple dijon salmon with sauteed carrots and zucchini

He even went all out with plating! A nice arrangement and a sprig of green garnish on top.

Knowing what I was up against the challenge was on.

Round 2: K’s Homemade Pizza

I had been craving pizza and it’s one of Z’s favorites, so I decided to go with that. But I wasn’t going to take the easy way out and buy a pre-made-standard gluten-free crust. No no.

EVERYTHING FROM SCRATCH. Crust AND sauce.

To do this I spent a good portion of my day off in the kitchen, but it was worth it to create:

Homemade oat flour pizza crust topped with homemade (garlic/onion-free)roasted tomato marinara, with chicken, sautéed zucchini, fresh basil, shaved parmesan and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.

Homemade Oat Crust Pizza & Roasted Tomato Marinara

It was delicious. Z could not stop raving about it. Yup. I felt like a domestic diva that day.

Want to impress your significant other? Here’s what you’ll need:

Homemade Oat Crust Pizza & Roasted Tomato Marinara

[Gluten-free, Low Fodmap]

For the crust

I used the recipe for “Homemade Oat Flour Crust (Gluten-Free)”  from The Candid RD. Oat flour, yeast, EVOO, salt, sugar, water. That’s it! Check out Gina’s site for the recipe.

For the sauce

I based it loosely off this recipe on a site called The Vedge. But with onions/garlic galore major alterations were needed. In the end mine looked something like this:

Ingredients:
  • 10 tomatoes, chopped (I used the ones on the vine from TJ’s, 2 packages)
  • 1 medium zucchini, chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, chopped
  • 2 tbsp Italian seasoning (I used a mixture of dried oregano, basil, and store bought “Italian seasoning” blend)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup fresh basil
DIRECTIONS:
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Add tomatoes, zucchini and carrots in a large baking dish.
  3. Sprinkle salt and seasoning over the veggies. Drizzle with olive oil.
  4. Give a nice stir to make sure all are coated.
  5. Bake for 1 hour.
  6. Remove from oven and let cool for 30 minutes.
  7. In a food processor, combine contents of baking dish (veggies AND juices) with fresh basil.
  8. Process as much or as little as you choose.
  9. Use sauce to top pizza, or any other dish you may be serving. Store the remaining in an airtight container in the refrigerator or keep in the freezer (which I ended up doing).

Tomato, zucchini, carrot in baking dishTomato, zucchini, carrot in baking dish

Homemade oat crust pizza with roasted tomato marinara

The process really isn’t that complicated, but the phrase “from scratch” along with “homemade” will instantly impress!

Click below for my other pizza making adventures:

Gluten-Free Almond Flour Pizza Crust

Sweet Potato Crust Pizza

Zucchini Crust Pizza

 

I want to know…

Do you and your significant other make dinner together? or does one person handle it more than the other?

