Tags

, , , , , ,

We wouldn’t have been able to make this whole wedding without our parents.

KZ and parents

They have been there every step of the way supporting and encouraging us…even when we told them about our crazy idea of getting married on an island in the middle of the Caribbean.

12-10 Mom and Kristi

Although we can never truly repay them, we wanted to give them some token of our appreciation.

For Z’s Parents

Last year I put together a photo book for Kristi to give to her Mom containing pictures from the yearly family reunion. Her Mom loved it, and so did she. Kristi dabbles in scrap booking  and has boxes upon boxes of family pictures collected.

In order to compile all the wonderful memories from the wedding, I presented her with an IOU for a photo book once we get our professional pictures come back.

I made the certificate on my go-to site, PicMonkey and included it in a hand-written card.

The Wedding of Z and K |  DIY Gifts for Parents

For K’s Parents

While home in NY for Thanksgiving I scanned some old pictures onto my computer. Not only did I want them as keepsakes, but I had a plan for them… The Wedding of Z and K |  DIY Gifts for Parents

Using these pictures as the cover, I created handmade thank you cards for both of my parents (see? wearing red even back then).

FOR DAD

During our 2009 trip to Costa Rica we spotted a sloth making his weekly voyage from tree to ground. We sat there, me camera in hand, and marveled at the (slow) journey. How many people out there (who aren’t zoologists) will sloth-watch with you?Father of the Bride Gift- K and Dad sloth watching in Costa Rica

Although I omitted the frame due to ease of travel, I gave him a print of the picture.

For Mom

After seeing the idea on Etsy, I commissioned my artistic friend Amy to draw a custom sketch of my dress.

Mother of the Bride Gift- customized wedding dress sketch

Mom was there for each shopping trip and even alterations. She helped me through the decision processes which is no an easy task (we all know how indecisive I can be). This sketch is a great keepsake and way to enjoy the dress for longer than just one day.

Amy now has her own Etsy shop, Art by Charm City Chick, of her personalized artwork (pet sketches are one of her specialties). Be sure to check out her Maryland flag hats too!

Part two of the gift was this personalized GPS coordinate bracelet from Silver Statements on Etsy. I saw it and knew it would be perfect, Mom being the avid geocacher she is.

Mother of the Bride Gift- Hand stamped GPS coordinate bracelet

The bracelet was stamped with the exact GPS coordinates for the villa. It was something meaningful without being cliché and tacky. Exactly what I was hoping for. Mom loved it and has not taken it off since.

I’m always a fan of personal gifts. Ones that come from the heart as opposed to “The Knot’s Top 10 Parent of the Bride Gifts” list.

I want to know…

Did you give your parents thank you gifts? If so, what were they?

