Tags

, , , , ,

The Wedding of Z & K

I no longer have to keep it a secret! I can finally share with you my dress searching journey in photographic form.

The Good, The Bad, The In-between

ROUND 1:

It all started at David’s Bridal in Danbury, Connecticut…

Davids Bridal Options

At this point I wasn’t 100% sure what I wanted. I had initially wanted to throw tradition to the wind and go with a short dress. Butttttt, after putting on the full length one I was sold. I mean, when else in life am I going to get to wear something like that?!

Round 2:

As I shared on the blog back in March, Mom ventured down for round 2, where we visited the Baltimore area stores.

Lily's Bridal- Candance

Lily’s Bridal, Baltimore

Betsy Robinson Bridal Dress Options

Betsy Robinson’s Bridal, Baltimore

Pink dress just for fun

Just for fun : )

The Decision

I didn’t walk away from the appointments with a clear winner. That “instantaneous oh my gosh I love it let me start crying” thing you see on tv just wasn’t happening. Being indecisive (as usual) I took some time to think through my options. Ultimately there was one that I kept coming back to in my mind. One that made me feel pretty AND comfortable.

The winner:

K in Clarice by Sottero and Midgley

“Clarice” by Sottero and Midgley in ivory.
Purchased from: The Bridal Boutique, Columbia MD

I loved the sweetheart neckline, the ruched bodice and the light-airy-flowiness of the bottom. It was perfect in that there were no diamonds, sparkles, lace or pearls. The setting we’re getting married in is beautiful enough that I didn’t want lots of bells and whistles to be competing with it. Simple dress. Simple accessories. Ideal.

THE ALTERATIONS

If you live in the Baltimore area and need alterations of any kind I HIGHLY recommend Sheryl Kelm.  She has been making and altering dresses for over 20 years and has turned the basement of her Pasadena home into a dress making paradise. Denise went to her for her wedding dress fittings last year and passed on the suggestion. So glad she did!

Dress fitting appt for blog

I’m excited to finally get to share my dress pictures with you all.

I’ve got more wedding-related posts on the way (it’s only been two years in the making so of course I need to show you the results) so stay tuned!

If you have no interest in anything weddings then check back in a few weeks for regularly scheduled programming. ; )

