Tags

, , , ,

The Wedding of Z & K

By the time you read this I will be on the tropical island of St. Lucia, spending my last day as a “Miss” lounging by the infinity pool overlooking the Caribbean.

While Z and I are off saying “I Do” I thought I’d share with you the results of the last year+ of planning. Not wanting to spoil things ahead of time there are wedding details I have yet to share here on the blog.

So today I will start from the beginning: the Save the Dates and invitations.

SAVE THE DATES

I absolutely adored our Save the Date cards. They were so perfectly fitting for a destination wedding. Save the Dates | The Wedding of Z & K

I found them on Etsy from a shop called My Sweetie Pie, which specializes in custom destination wedding postcards.

The shop has a few templates you can choose from, and once picking my favorite, I all I had to do was provide wording and location details. The owner, Stephanie, promptly sent me back a design template to look over and tweak if needed.

Once I gave the final approval she took care of printing and they arrived at my door!  The whole process only took a little over two weeks.

Save the Dates | The Wedding of Z & K

(Since this is The Adventures of Z & K, the wording “Their most epic adventure yet” was nothing short of perfect.)

THE INVITATIONS

Honestly they were not something I felt very strongly about. Being a destination wedding our guests already knew when and where it was and had already started making travel arrangements. Sending out invitations as well just felt like a formality (not to mention they’re expensive!).

But of course without an invitation, Mom would have nothing to put in the scrapbook she would ultimately be making!

Since I was ambivalent and Mom wanted a nice keepsake, I delegated the task to her (besides she’s a super crafter and I knew she would come up with something great).

The result:DIY Invites | The Wedding of Z & K

I hadn’t seen the finished product until it showed up in our mailbox (yes we got invited to our own wedding). The band with our initials was a surprise to me and a nice finishing touch.

Mom even made matching response cards:

Response Cards | The Wedding of Z & K

Since we’ll be doing our own music she asked guests to suggest their favorite songs to ensure we could have something for everybody. Wedding reception song recommendations

Note from Mom: “I used Microsoft publisher, saved as a jpeg, and then printed at home using HP photo printing software. I tried to send the picture out to a drug store lab to be printed, but I’m not used to that, must have misunderstood the directions, and I did not get the 5×7 picture I ordered. So I printed them home myself.  Printed on photo paper because the red color  didn’t stand out on white card stock.”

20131123_103808

(Where the magic happens, aka Mom’s craft room)

So there you have it: Save the dates and invites. A mixture of Etsy purchasing and DIY. No need to shell out hundreds of dollars for fancy schmancy paper goods that will ultimately end up in the trash (let’s face the facts, your guests will most likely will toss them).

Creating them yourself allows for complete customization at a fraction of the cost! Thanks Mom!

I want to know…

Do you keep wedding invitations? Any creative ideas for them?

