Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been awhile since I’ve shared a recipe around here and that’s honestly due to the fact that I’ve been too busy/exhausted to do much in the way of cooking or baking these days. Z and I have been eating the same breakfasts, pretty simple lunches and (with our opposite schedules at the moment) I am on my own for dinner most nights leading me to throw together a random assortment of foods and call it a night.

Once this wedding is over and I start my transition into a domestic diva/happy housewife hopefully this will change and I’ll regain my motivation for recipe experimentation…

That being said, I have been wanting to try these tuna quinoa cakes ever since I saw them on the blog Slim Sanity back in June. JUNE! That’s how long it’s been (gosh I’m slacking). I had all the ingredients on hand and with a few tweaks here and there I created the following:

Tuna Quinoa Cakes

Tuna Quinoa Cakes

Adapted From: Slim Sanity

Makes: 9 cakes

Ingredients

  • 2 5 oz cans tuna, drained  (I used TJ’s brand no salt added)
  • 3/4 c cooked quinoa
  • 2 c yellow squash, grated (~1 medium sized squash)
  • 1/4 c shredded cheddar
  • 2 tbsp spelt flour
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika
  • 3 tbsp liquid egg white (or 1 egg)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Grate squash. Remove excess water by squeezing in a paper towel. Add to a large bowl.
  3. Add in remaining ingredients.
  4. Spray a muffin pan with non-stick spray. Place mixture into cups, filling to the top. Should make about 9 cakes.
  5. Bake at for 20 minutes until heated thoroughly and browned.
  6. For a crispy top: place under broiler for ~2 minutes before serving.

The Result

In that tiny little muffin-sized cake you get a dose of protein, healthy fat, grain, AND veggies! Definitely a winner. Not to mention the taste was similar to that of a fish stick…something I can’t even remember the last time I’ve had!

That’s what we’ll call this recipe: a healthy grown-up fancy fish stick.

Tuna Quinoa Zucchini cake

I want to know…

Do you ever get in cooking ruts?

What are some of your easy, go-to meals when you lack motivation?

