Tags

, , , , , ,

For the past three years the military has become part of my life. It will continue to be as one month from now I will be marrying a veteran.

I’ve heard tales from Z’s time in the Marines serving in Iraq and Afghanistan. I’ve waited stateside during his year-long deployment to Egypt. I’ve watched as he puts on his ACU and heads off to drill each month.

Z at Army National Guard ceremony

But Z’s story/our story is just one of many. Today is the day to recognize those who have served. Z in ACU army uniform

Z returning home from deployment

S.U.D.S.

In honor of today, I wanted to share with all of you the collaboration that the National Aquarium did with an organization called SUDS (Soldiers Undertaking Disabled SCUBA). For the past couple of years they’ve teamed up to give wounded veterans a truly unique experience.

Wounded Warriors at The National Aquarium

Gratitude

I encourage you to take a moment and thank a veteran today. It could be a family member, a friend or a coworker. Take a moment and let them know you appreciate their service, and the time, dedication and sacrifices that may have included.

I saw this shared on Facebook last week and after almost making me tear up and giving Z chills I couldn’t help but share it as well.

Veteran Transformation

I want to know…

Do you have any veterans in your life?

