Tags

, , , , , ,

Recipes of pumpkin this and pumpkin that have been flying around blogs/websites/Pinterest for weeks now. Although it took me a bit to get my act together, I was finally able to get myself to the kitchen and create a treat incorporating this fall delight.

I’ve been looking for new protein-filled snacks to take with me to work. Don’t get me wrong, I love my go to trail-mix creations, but variety is the spice of life and it’s time to (pumpkin) spice things up.

Pumpkin Pie Protein Bars  The Adventures of Z & K

(Side Note: I had the chance to try out some new photography tips and tricks I’ve been reading about (stay tuned for more on that). It was fun playing around with the food and my camera and seeing what kinds of shots I could come up with!)

Ok, back to the matter at hand: eating pumpkin.

THE RECIPE

Pumpkin Pie Protein Bar Recipe |  The Adventures of Z & K

Pumpkin Pie Protein Bars  The Adventures of Z & K

THE RESULT

The pumpkin keeps them nice and moist, but be warned—they crumble easily (best to keep in the freezer until right before eating). While good cold, I enjoyed them most when stuck in the microwave for a few seconds…warm, but not hot. You know what would be really good? Popping them in the toaster oven and spreading some nut butter on top. Mmmmm.

Pumpkin Pie Protein Bar | The Adventures of Z & K

Can’t get enough protein bars/muffins? Check out my inspiration: Banana Protein Muffins from the blog Southern-in-Law. I’ve made that recipe before and honestly you can never go wrong with banana.

Enjoy!

-K

I want to know…

What’s the best thing you’ve made with pumpkin recently?

