Tags

, , , , ,

Recently I mentioned my love of trail mix. Bottom line is it’s a great, customizable, on the go snack.

But why not take that snack and incorporate it in to dessert??

In keeping with the theme around here I recently tried out a new recipe for trail mix cookies!

Oh She Glows Trail Mix Cookies from The Adventures of Z &

I’ve pinned a few recipes now from Angela over at Oh She Glows. They do not disappoint. Oh She Glows blog logo

When I came across “Irresistible Chewy Trail Mix Cookies (Vegan + Gluten-free) I pinned immediately and have had them in my head ever since.

One of the “problems” I’ve found with baking is that most recipes assume you are feeding an army….or at least more than two people. Seeing as how it’s only Z and me, I have no desire to make dozens upon dozens of baked goods. Especially with new recipes…what if I don’t like it? Then I’m stuck with 23 more of them.

That’s why I usually reduce new recipes: to experiment, to taste, see what I like/don’t like/could be improved. This was one of those instances.

THE RECIPE

Adapted from: Oh She Glows
Amounts adjusted to 1/3 of original recipe (makes 10 small cookies).

INGREDIENTS

(there are a lot!)

Dry

1/4 cup + 2 1/2 teaspoons oat flour

2 tablespoons + 1 1/8 teaspoons almond flour

2 tablespoons + 1 1/8 teaspoons rolled oats

1 tablespoon + 1/2 teaspoon coconut sugar (or brown sugar)

1 tablespoon + 1/2 teaspoon unsweetened shredded

2 3/4 teaspoons chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life semi-sweet chunks)

1 3/4 teaspoons cacao nibs

1 3/4 teaspoons sunflower seeds

1 3/4 teaspoons sesame seeds

1 3/4 teaspoons chia seeds

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon sea salt

1/8 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

Wet

chia “egg”–1 teaspoon chia + 1 3/4 teaspoons water

1 tablespoon + 1/2 teaspoon almond butter

1 tablespoon + 1/2 teaspoon coconut oil

1 tablespoon + 1/2 teaspoon maple syrup

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Make chia egg (1 tsp chia seeds + 1 3/4 tsp water) and place in fridge until a gel is formed.
  3. Combine dry ingredients.
  4. In separate bowl mix together wet ingredients.
  5. Add wet to dry and stir.
  6. With hands, roll batter into balls (whatever size you want) and place on to parchment-lined cookie. sheet.
  7. Bake 13-15 minutes.
  8. Cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes before attempting to transfer to a cooling rack (they are a tad bit fragile).
  9. Eat. Enjoy!

Trail Mix Cookies on cooling rack

Trail Mix Cookies on cooling rack

Trail Mix Cookies (6)

THE RESULT

Scrumptious!Trail Mix Cookies

I can honestly say I’ve never really thought about adding sesame seeds to cookies, but I loved it. The combination of all of them was definitely my favorite part.

If a granola bar and a chocolate chip cookie had an offspring, this would be it.

I want to know…

What is a weird/unique/unusual ingredient you’ve used in baking?

