Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love trail mix. The variety. The texture. The taste. All of it.

Perhaps this can be attributed to my twelve years as a Girl Scout. Back in the day GORP “Good Old Raisins and Peanuts” (most often with the addition of M&Ms) was a staple at every campout.

K as a girl scout

(I’ve since gone as a Girl Scout two times for Halloween)

I was inspired by this recipe from Patsy Catsos, an RD well known for her expertise in low FODMAP eating.

With a few customizations I created:

Festively Fall Trail Mix  The Adventures of Z and K

Festively Fall Trail Mix

The combination of nuts and cranberries, and pumpkin pie spice instantly induces a feeling of fall. A great snack to take along on a cool weather campout!

ingredients

2c cereal (I went with 1c cinnamon puffins + 1 c spelt flakes)

1/3c raw, unsalted peanuts

1/3c dried cranberries

1/3c raw, unsalted pumpkin seeds

1/3c chocolate chips (I used half Enjoy Life mega-chunks and half Nestle butterscotch morsels)

pumpkin pie spice/cinnamon/both to taste

Directions

1. Combine above ingredients into a food storage container.

Festively Fall Trail Mix Ingredients- peanuts, pumpkin seeds, pecans, enjoy life chips, butterscotch morsels, puffins, spelt flakes, cranberries

2. Add cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice to taste.

Pumpkin Pie Spice added to trail mix

I like cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice A LOT so there was quite a bit in there.

3. Place lid on container and shake shake shake so everything is nice and mixed.

Festively Fall Trail Mix with puffins cereal, cranberries, almonds, pecans, pumpkin seeds, enjoy life chips and butterscotch morsels | The Adventures of Z & K

4. Portion out into 6 snack bags (~1/3C in each).

Festively Fall Trail Mix | The Adventures of Z & K

Nutritional Info (per serving):
168 calories, 24g carbs, 8g fat, 4g protein, 61g sodium, 13g sugar.

These were a great snack to grab and go snack to take with me to work each day. I haven’t bought peanuts in a long time (I’ve been so obsessed with almonds) that I forgot how much I enjoy them. They have quickly become a new favorite!

I want to know…

Were you ever a girl (or boy) scout?

If so, until what grade?

What was your favorite memory of it?

