Tags

, , , , ,

Well, I did it again. Threw traditional grocery store bread purchases out the window. I decided instead of buying sandwich thins I would just make them. Almond Flour Sandwich Thins- The Adventures of Z and K

Now this is not the first time I’ve attempted bread making:

Seeing as how I’m very particular about my bread to filling ratio (I dislike when the bread is so thick that you can barely taste what’s in the middle) the sandwich “thin” is my ideal.

I followed a recipe for “Sandwich Rounds {using almond flour}” that I found on a blog called:Comfy Belly Logo

The recipe was super simple and easily customizable.

The Steps

To make a half-batch (~12 thins):

1) Combine 1.5C almond flour, 1/2tsp baking soda, 1/2c unsweetened almond milk, 1/8c coconut oil, 2 egg whites and tbsp maple syrup together in a bowl.

2) Pour 2tbsp worth at a time onto a lined baking sheet, forming a circle.

3) Sprinkle with toppings and bake for 15 minutes at 350.

Homemade Sandwich Thins (made with almond flour)

4) Let cool. Eat. Enjoy!

Homemade Sandwich Thins (made with almond flour)

The Result

Wonderful.

A basic bread to accompany a turkey sandwich or top with peanut butter and banana for a snack.

Homemade Sandwich Thins (made with almond flour)

Homemade Sandwich Thins (made with almond flour)

I ended up testing out four different toppings so I could know for the future which I liked best.

Homemade almond flour sandwich thin topping varieties

(*not pictured: sesame seeds)

They were all great but I think my favorites were the cinnamon (especially after warmed up in the toaster oven) and the sesame seed.

Another successful recipe. All part of my “making your own is better than overly processed, weird ingredient filled foods” master plan.

I want to know…

What is your favorite style of bread?

Thin-sliced? Thick? Wrap/Tortilla? Baguette? Other?

