Tags

, ,

Gretchen Rubin Happiness Project book cover

Month 6: Make Time For Friends

Friends are a key element to happiness. These are people that you consciously choose to be part of your life because they contribute to and enhance it.

This chapter mentioned many of the benefits of strong bonds including:

  • a greater sense of contentment in everyday life
  • lengthening life
  • boosting immunity
  • cutting risk of depression

These are all great things, so strengthening and maintaining meaningful relationships should be a priority. Gretchen set out to strengthen old friendships, grow existing ones and reach out and make new friends.

Goals for the month:

Gretchen Rubin Happiness Project chapter 6 goals

Favorite Quotes

Gretchen Rubin Happiness Project chapter 6 quoteGretchen Rubin Happiness Project chapter 6 quote

REAL LIFE APPLICATIONS

I fully agree that friendships play a big role in my happiness. Let’s face it, if these people didn’t make me feel good I wouldn’t spend time with them!

K and Z and Friends

Friends just “get you.” They know you and your quirks and accept you despite them. They make you laugh, comfort you when you cry and offer support advice and love. There are friends that you talk to everyday and ones that you haven’t talked to in months but can pick up right where you left off the next time you do.

One of Gretchen’s goals was to remember birthdays. A simple goal but one that really does go along way.

Back in April I set the same goal for myself: bring back snail mail hand written birthday cards.

Handwritten yellow and grey birthday card from Target

In a day where a quick “happy birthday” text is the norm, I wanted to expend a bit more effort into telling my friends I was thinking of them on their special day.

Although admittedly I’ve slacked a bit since April, my goal was to sit down at the start of the month and write out birthday cards to friends and family celebrating in the coming weeks. A nice, handwritten notes means more than any Hallmark card from Target in my opinion.

In addition to cards, Z and I have recently gotten creative and made “special” birthday messages to text to friends….

Happy Birthday Jason from K and Z

These small gestures don’t take a lot of effort, but can mean a lot to the person on the receiving end. Let your friends know you’re thinking about them and how special they are to you. They contribute to your happiness, so be sure to contribute to theirs!

I want to know…

What is the nicest thing a friend has ever done for you?

How do you keep in touch with and strengthen old friendships?

What are ways you work to grow your current ones?

