Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday was the “official” start of fall. However I had my first idealistic fall experience a little over a week before.

Let me set the scene for you…

It was a Saturday morning. Temps were in the lower 60s. I had all the windows open and a cool breeze was blowing in. A pumpkin-scented candle had been burning in the house since I got up.

After seeing recipe upon recipe for pumpkin related goodies popping up on Pinterest I decided it was time….time to break out the can of pumpkin puree I had in the cupboard just waiting to be enjoyed.

Pumpkin Cookies almond flour gluten free low FODMAP

I’ve been pinning lots of recipes from Lexi’s Clean Kitchen recently and I just couldn’t resist her Grain-Free Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies.

The Recipe

ADAPTED FROM: Lexi’s Clean Kitchen

Makes 16 cookies (small)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil (or grass-fed butter) realized at the end that I completely forgot it! turned out fine though!
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 3 tbsp raw organic honey 2 tbsp maple syrup (I like my treats less sweet)
  • 1 tsp organic vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp Himalayan sea salt (used regular)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin spice (I went with 3/4 tsp because I love the stuff)
  • ¼ cup or more of Enjoy Life/ your favorite dark chocolate chips (I used a combo of Enjoy Life mega chunks + butterscotch morsels).
  • Optional: additional pumpkin pie spice sprinkled over cookies when cooled (of course I added this!)

Steps

1. Preheat oven to 350

2. In a medium-sized bowl combine almond flour, coconut flour, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice.

3. Add in pumpkin puree, egg, maple syrup, and vanilla; mix well.

4. Fold in chocolate chips/butterscotch morsels/nuts/whatever your heart desires. I made 1/2 batch with crumbled Enjoy Life mega chunks+ raw almonds and 1/2 batch w/ butterscotch morsels.

4. Place tablespoons of dough on a lined baking sheet and lightly flatten. I made my cookies pretty tiny. I like them bite-sized!

5. Bake for 15 minutes.

6. Let cool and serve

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies | The Adventures of Z & K

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies | The Adventures of Z & K

The Result

The smell coming from the kitchen was intoxicating. I want all pumpkin all the time. Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

I of course had to sample both varieties and while I love me some chocolate I have to say the butterscotch was the winner in my book. That flavor in addition combination with pumpkin was pure perfection. Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies | The Adventures of Z & K

I still have 3/4 of my can of pumpkin puree waiting to be used so might just have to go ahead and make another batch (perhaps this time not forgetting the coconut oil).

I want to know…

Pumpkin: love it? hate it? indifferent?

What is your favorite pumpkin including food or drink?

