Tags

, , , ,

Zucchini Carrot Muffins

Like many other people at this time of year I recently found myself with a couple of zucchini sitting in my fridge waiting to be used. Combine that with the remnants of the 10lb bag of carrots from Costco (yeah, we like carrots) I set out on a mission to find a muffin/bread recipe to incorporate both of these veggies.

That’s when I came across the blog, Meaningful Eats.

Meaningful Eats Blog Logo

The recipe I found was for “Carrot Zucchini Toddler Muffins {Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free}.”

Toddler muffins are not made out of toddlers but were deemed that because they are a sneaky way to incorporate veggies without kids knowing. Thankfully, as I found out, you do not have to be under the age of 5 to enjoy them.

The Recipe

Source: Adapted from Meaningful Eats

Makes 7 muffins (cups filled 1/2 way).  For larger/more hearty ones, reduce serving size and fill cups 3/4 of the way.

The changes I made to the original recipe were as follows:

  • adding additional almond flour in place of brown rice flour (which I didn’t have)
  • reducing the amount of maple syrup (I prefer just a “hint” of sweet)
  • substituting a chia egg for a real one
  • adding a bit more carrots (because we had a lot!)
  • using a standard muffin tin instead of a mini one (don’t have)

Zucchini Carrot Muffins The Adventures of Z & K

The Result

Zucchini-Carrot Muffins

You can’t even tell there are veggies in there!

Sure they’re not large and fluffy like the original recipe ones (more almond flour + no egg will do that) but comparison is the thief of joy and they were good so who cares what they look like?

Zucchini-Carrot Muffins

Z and I took them to work with us throughout the week as a snack. Definitely a great poppable veggie filled treat.

*Tip: Before eating place in toaster oven for a couple of minutes to warm up and crisp.  Mmmmm.

I want to know…

What is your go-to recipe for using up zucchini (or carrot)?

Leave a link in the comments below. I’ve got more carrots so would love some ideas!

