Tags

, , , ,

I have a super simple tasty recipe to share today using my favorite flour: spelt!

Homemade Spelt Flatbread  The Adventures of Z and K

When I saw a recipe for homemade whole wheat tortillas on The Lean Green Bean recently I was shocked at not only how few ingredients there were but how few steps were involved.

Could making your own homemade tortillas/flatbread really be that easy?!

It turns out the answer is yes!

Homemade Spelt Flatbread

Wheat is something I currently avoid so in order to make Lindsay’s recipe FODMAP friendly I subbed in spelt flour.

You may remember from my bread machine adventures, spelt is a distant cousin of wheat that is more easily tolerated by those of us with GI issues.

Arrowhead Mills Organic Spelt Flour

Ingredients

  • 2 c organic spelt flour
  • 3 tbsp  olive oil
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • ⅔ c warm water

Instructions

  1. Mix together flour, oil and salt.
  2. Continue mixing, adding water in small amounts until dough is formed.
  3. Remove from bowl, place on counter and knead for ~2 minutes.
  4. Return to bowl and let rest for 20 minutes.
  5. Divide dough into 8 equal balls (a pizza cutter worked great for this!)
  6. Using a rolling pin, flatten dough into circles (ideally pretty thin).
  7. Heat a pan over medium high heat and grease lightly.
  8. Place rolled tortilla into pan and cook until bubbles form- ~1-2minute.
  9. Flip over and cook another minute, pressing down with a spatula if needed. Repeat with remaining dough.

Homemade Spelt Flatbread via The Adventures of Z and K

The Verdict

I’m never going back to store bought again! So easy.

Mine came out a bit thicker than I imagined so I decided to call these flatbreads instead of tortillas. Whatever you want to call them though, they’re delicious.

Homemade Spelt Flatbread via The Adventures of Z and K

I want to know…

If you were making a sandwich using these flatbreads, what would you put on it??

