Tags

, , ,

I’ve been jumping on the paleo bandwagon a lot recently. Not because it’s cool and trendy (my days of Crossfit have long since passed) but rather I’ve realized it very much aligns with my low FODMAP way of life.

For those who may need a refresher, the paleo diet consists of the following guidelines:

image

[source]

Now I certainly don’t follow this exactly…let’s be honest, I like my morning oatmeal and peanut butter too much for that. However I find myself drawn to paleo recipes because they are:

  • grain-free– wheat avoidance is therefore easy!
  • dairy-free
  • legume-free– that means no beans, edamame, lentils, soy nuts, chickpeas (I already know they don’t agree with me).

So when I wanted a sweet treat recently I turned to a paleo recipe for inspiration.

Paleo Brownies  The Adventures of Z and K

I forgot how much I love brownies. In the world of sweet treats, besides my newly discovered love of chocolate chip cookies, brownies may be a close second. The are little square of soft chocolatey goodness.

RANDOM FACT: I NEVER eat them warm. It weirds me out. They must be room temp or better yet…cold!

THE RECIPE

Adapted from Lexi’s Clean Kitchen

Makes 6 brownies*

(*Due to the fact that I had never made brownies before (let alone paleo ones) I didn’t want to be stuck with a slew of sub-par baked goods. Therefore I only made a small batch. Plus, since they were only for Z & I there was no need to make a plethora. Feel free to double the recipe for a full dozen if you wish.)

INGREDIENTS

2 TBSP almond meal

1/8 C  unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 TSP baking powder

dash of salt

1 egg white

1 TBSP almond butter

1.5 TBSP maple syrup

1/4 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/2 TSP vanilla extract

OPTIONAL: chocolate chips (if strictly paleo use the Enjoy Life brand), nuts

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 (since I was making a small batch I used my toaster oven).
  2. In a bowl combine almond flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk together egg, almond butter, maple syrup, almond milk and vanilla extract.
  4. Combine both bowls and mix thoroughly to form batter. Fold in chocolate chips or nuts if using.
  5. Pour into a glass baking dish.*
  6. Bake 25 minutes (or until toothpick comes out clean).

*I was able to use this small Pampered Chef glass dish.
It fit perfectly into the toaster oven! THE VERDICT

Mmmmmm…

I did it! Made brownies for the first time!

They came out chocolately and moist but not overly sweet. I had added a few dark chocolate chips and a sprinkle of Trader Joe’s honey almond silvers to the batter, both of which provided a nice little crunch.

The recipe was easy and something I could see making to bring to a dinner party or picnic.

Paleo Brownies

I want to know…

There are two subsets of people: those who like nuts in their brownies and those who don’t.

Which one do YOU side with?

