Tags

,

Last week my blogger buddy to the south, Alison of Wicked Healthy Washingtonian tagged me in her post as someone who “…gives me much needed inspiration and ideas and motivation. I love em’ to death.” The feeling is certainly mutual and I cannot wait to meet up with her in a couple of weeks.

Sunshine

By being tagged I was presented with questions to answer about myself. If you remember I’ve participated in similar challenges before (Liebster Award) and find the randomness in the questions to be refreshing and fun. So, here it goes.

Alison Asks…

Who is your favorite superhero?

Superheroes have never been my thing. How about we go with villain instead?

Julie Newmar Catwoman

[source]

Catwoman’s always been my favorite. I remember growing up watching the original 1960’s Batman series and thought Julie Newmar was SO cool. She got to wear jewelry, fun high-heeled boots, AND liked animals. Who wouldn’t love that?!

If you could only choose one- which one would you pick:  guac, salsa, or queso?

Due to the prevalence of onions AND lactose in those options I’d have to go with none of the above. Don’t get me wrong, I love all three, but unfortunately they are no longer a part of my life. So sad.

What is your proudest fitness moment?

The first time I ran a 5K in under 30 minutes. I’ve never been a runner. In fact growing up I hated it. The mile-run during the annual physical fitness test was my arch nemesis. It filled me with anxiety because no matter how many times I told myself “THIS is the year you’ll run it in under 10 minutes” it never happened.

As an adult, once I started increasing my distances and working towards 5K races, I discovered that 10 min/mi pace was just what was comfortable for me. It was something I could maintain over the 3.1 miles. However that childhood goal has always been in the back of my mind.

Last August, in Lancaster, PA, I did it! K and Z High Five

Finished 3.1 miles in 29:40. Average pace: 9:34.

What is your current jam or song obsession?

One of my favorites right now is “Can’t Hold Us” by Macklemore. Whether running, working out, or just walking to work it pumps me up!

Since I love anything a cappella related, check out this fun version by Pentatonix:

Pentatonix- Can’t Hold Us
What is your favorite and most important grocery staple?

Almond butter. I cannot get through a week without it. The raw variety, either crunchy or creamy. On waffles, in oatmeal, for carrot dipping. I love it!Waffles w/ nut butter and fruit

What is your favorite thing about where you’re from?

The history and the Hudson.

Hyde Park, NY is the birth-place of Franklin D. Roosevelt. Therefore you better believe every student of the Hyde Park Central School District can tell you everything you ever wanted to know about FDR and Eleanor.

Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt

I also love that the Hudson River runs right by. Between the Inner Harbor and Hudson River I guess I always need to live by some body of water!

K and Z with Fam

Due to that proximity of the river, there are many historic mansions in town. Perched on hilltops with river views they they are available to tour and are the site for many “pre-prom photo get-togethers” for our high school. Mills Mansion Hyde Park New York

What is the best thing you’ve ever cooked?

I had to ask Z for help with this one because I couldn’t come up with anything off the top of my head. We thought about it some and both agreed that spaghetti squash parmesan not only tasted phenomenal but opened our eyes into the world of pasta-less pasta dishes.

Spaghetti Squash Parmesan

How do you eat an oreo cookie?

Can’t remember the last time I had one but my answer would be: not in public. I get self-conscious about having black particles in my teeth that I avoid eating them in front of others.

What is your favorite smell?

Apple scented candles. I just bought one yesterday despite the fact that it’s still summer.

Apple Cinnamon Scented Candle

What is your favorite thing about yourself?

Complimenting yourself is tough…I guess I would say my creativity and craftiness is a favorable trait. I enjoy DIY projects and believe that homemade gifts are often much more meaningful than something you pick out at the store.

K's crafty creations

So there you have it. Complete randomness but so fun. Thanks for the inspiration Alison!

p.s. Since writing this post I was challenged by Megan of The Lyon’s Share with 5 additional questions. Stay tuned as I ponder…

