Tags

, ,

Ever since Z gave me a juicer for my birthday I’ve started experimenting with the concept of drinking my veggies….a thought that would have previously grossed me out. However the more I try it, the more I like it!

With a sensitive stomach like mine, processing veggies in the form of smoothies or even juicing is a nice way of making things a bit easier to digest and getting those nutrients where they’re supposed to go.

Green Machine Smoothie

The Inspiration

I had come across a green smoothie recipe on WholeLiving.com that sounded appealing and, as per usual pinned it onto my “Delightful Drinks” Pinterest board for future reference.

The smoothie included romaine, kale, parsley, pineapple, mango, ginger and water. They provided the following description highlighting the health benefits:

Starting the day with this nutrient-dense elixir is a delicious way to charge your system with nutrients. Dark leafy greens are extremely alkalizing, meaning they foster a more neutral body environment for better functioning enzymes, compared with acid-forming foods like meats and dairy.

The Modifications

As much as I want to be trendy and eat kale like every other healthy living blogger out there, my stomach says no thank you (the darker the green the more it revolts).  Therefore I left it out.

Another change I made was to the fruit components. In the world of high FODMAP foods you’ll notice the second fruit listed under the “excess fructose” category…mango. So yet again, left it out.

high fodmap containing foods

The Recipe

So what did I end up using you ask?

Green Machine Smoothie

Ingredients

(serves 2)

6 romaine leaves, chopped

1/2 C fresh parsley

1 C frozen pineapple

1” fresh ginger, peeled and chopped

3/4 C water

1/4 C coconut water

Directions

Combine all in blender. Mix. Drink. Enjoy!

Green Machine Smoothie 2

