Tags

, , , ,

Recently I had a craving for a burger and fries. No that doesn’t mean hitting up the nearest McDonald’s or 5 Guys, instead Z and I set out to make our own turkey burgers and batch of veggie-based fries.

I’ve made sweet potato fries multiple times, but seeing as how we had some zucchini & summer squash to use up, I decided to sub those in instead.

I consulted my trusty Pinterest board and ended up taking inspiration from:

Oven Baked Zucchini Fries (Lexi’s Clean Kitchen) + Carrot Fries (Skinny Minnie Moves)

Thanks to those two ladies I think I found a new favorite way to eat zucchini!

Oven baked seasoned zucchini fries

THE RECIPE

As adapted from Lexi’s Clean Kitchen & Skinny Minnie Moves

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 zucchini, sliced into “fries”
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp garlic infused olive oil (*FODMAP friendly, hooray!)
  • DIRECTIONS

    1. Preheat oven to 425.
    2. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and cooking spray.
    3. Cut zucchini into “fries” and use paper towel or clean dish cloth to remove excess moisture.
    4. In a bowl combine spices and mix thoroughly.
    5. In a separate bowl combine fries and olive oil. Coat thoroughly.
    6. Toss the spices and fries.
    7. Lay flat on baking sheet.
    8. Bake 12 minutes. Flip. Bake 12 more.
    9. For a crisp finish, broil for the last 2 minutes.

    oven baked zucchini fries

    THE VERDICT

    GOOD. So so good.

    I’ve never wanted to consume large quantities of zucchini more than I did in this moment. The seasoning was so extremely flavorful. Although it probably didn’t need dipping sauce, I love ketchup so went with that.

    We ate the fries alongside a homemade turkey burger on a romaine wrap. Homemade asian turkey burger with zucchini fries

    The burger was actually quite a hit as well! Z was in charge of the burgers and roughly followed this Gluten-free Asian Turkey Meatball recipe. Mmmmm, tasty!

    Overall Z and I have been slacking in the creative dinner department recently. This meal was a much needed success and has inspired me to try and get back on the “Pinterest recipe making” train a little more often.

    I want to know…

    What’s the best meal you’ve made within the last week?

    Feel free to share the recipe in the comments below!

