Tags

,

I’d heard about Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project for awhile now. My interest heighted when a couple of months ago Jenna started reading it. She would come in to work each day enthusiastically recounting to me what she had read and learned the night before. She marveled at how relatable the story was and how much it made her stop and think about her own life.

She promised me I’d love it and the minute she was done she’d pass it along.

Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project book cover

I didn’t have to wait that long because she gave me my very own copy for my birthday!

The Synopsis

So what’s it about?

“…Rubin chronicles her adventures during the twelve months she spent test driving the wisdom of the ages, current scientific research, and lessons from popular culture about how to be happier.”

The book is broken down into twelve chapters, chronicling a different area of her life and a corresponding resolution for each one. They include such things as work, attitude, money and marriage.

Sharing is Caring

Z and I decided to read the book together. This was probably a good choice seeing as how I knew I’d be talking all about it to him anyway. Plus, it’s a nice activity, aside from Modern Family on dvd, that we can do together.

As we go through and read the book I decided to share my thoughts on each chapter and applications to my own life. The things I stopped and thought about and the changes I’ve made. Maybe you’ll get something out of it as well!

Month 1: Boost Energy

Her resolutions for the first month were focused on vitality. By having more energy in general she believed she would be better able to focus on other tasks.

The goals were pretty straight forward:Gretch Reubin's Happiness Project Chapter One

Favorite Quotes

Here are some of my favorite take-home messages that I felt I could apply in my own life:

The Happiness Project- Chapter 1 Quote When the student is ready the teacher appears

That’s exactly what this book is for me. At a time in my life where I often feel overwhelmed or stressed, this book is helping me to focus on taking charge and changing what I can.

The Happiness Project Chapter 1- Energy comes from creating order

As a self-proclaimed neat-freak/organizer I’m happiest when the things around me are organized. Whether it’s straightened pillows on the sofa, or a clutter-free counter, order is ideal.

Real-Life Applications

After reading about Gretchen’s efforts to create order, I tried out her “one minute rule.” Simply put, if it’s something that can be done in one minute or less, don’t wait, do it now!

EXAMPLE: I had been meaning on dusting the bookshelf in the living room. Would it take more than one minute? Nope. So I did it. Now I don’t feel a nagging in me every time I walk by it.

By tidying the environment around me I believe, just as Gretchen did, that I can set my self up to better order and tidy other parts of my life.

I want to know…

Have you read The Happiness Project?

What is one way that you boost your energy?

What is one task that you keep putting off but know you’ll feel better once it’s done?

