Tags

, , , ,

I’ve exist in a world of consistency when it comes to breakfast. I eat the same things day in and day out…and I’m fine with that. I know what will fill me up and get me going.

Recently though I took a big step: I varied from the norm (gasp!). But don’t worry, only slightly.

I came across a recipe on Pinterest and followed it back to a blog called, Sugar-Free Mom.

image

She promised me “No Bake Dairy Free Sugar Free Overnight Oats.” Since it’s been so toasty around here recently, a cooling breakfast sounded like a great way to start the day.

The best part about this was that unlike a lot of the overnight oat recipes I find, this one did not use yogurt. My lactose-avoiding self appreciated that fact.

I followed her basic recipe and customized accordingly.

Cinnamon Blueberry Overnight Oats

Cinnamon Blueberry Overnight Oats (dairy-free)

Adapted from Sugar-Free Mom

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1.5 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1.5 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 droppers liquid vanilla stevia
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions

Mix together all ingredients (except blueberries). Let stand in fridge for 30 minutes.

Divide mixture into 2 mason jars. Add blueberries and cinnamon to each.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Cinnamon Blueberry Overnight Oats

The Verdict

Delightful. I’m all about cold oats now!

You get the filling benefits of regular oatmeal but the cooling sensation of a yogurt bowl. A perfect summer breakfast if you ask me.

These jars also keep really well. I made a some earlier in the week and then didn’t get around to eating them for a couple of days and they were still tasty and ready to go when I did. Thanks mason jars, thanks.

I want to know…

Do you have a favorite summer time breakfast?

