Tags

, , ,

I have a summery treat to share with you today!

Peach Cobbler Muffins from The Adventures of Z and K

Recently Z brought back a large container of peaches from Trader Joe’s. Seeing as how they are not a low FODMAP fruit he was on his own in terms of eating them. He kept forgetting about them and eventually we had a large amount of ripe peaches on our hands that needed to be used up.

Peach Cobler Muffins- Trader Joe's Peaches

My first instinct was just to chop and freeze them, but then then I came across a new-to-me blog called Lexi’s Clean Kitchen and saw a paleo peach muffin recipe! I had all the ingredients in the house so I got to baking!

The Steps

Step 1: Combine dry ingredients

1/2 c almond flour, 1 1/2 tsp coconut flour, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Peach Cobler Muffins dry ingredients

Step 2: Combine wet ingredients

2 eggs, 1 tbsp melted coconut oil, 1 tbsp maple syrup, 1 tsp vanilla extract

Peach Cobler Muffins wet ingredients

Step 3: Chop peaches

1 cup of peeled, chopped peaches (~ 2 whole ones)

Peach Cobler Muffins Chopped Peaches

Step 3: Add wet ingredients to dry. Mix.

Pour batter into tins (I had enough for 7 muffins). Peach Cobler Muffins- Batter makes 7 muffins

Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean).

Step 5: Let cool. Eat. Enjoy!

Peach Cobler Muffins finished

I topped them with some crumbled cinnamon almonds for a nice crunchy topping.

The Verdict

Mmmmm, little bites of summer.

Despite peaches not being a low FODMAP fruit I ate these anyway! I already adjusted the recipe by subbing maple syrup for honey so I figured the small serving of fruit wouldn’t be an issue.

The muffins came out moist and not overly sweet (ideal in my world). The chunks of peaches in each bite were a flavorful surprise.

The recipe made 7 muffins and used only 2 peaches. I was hoping to use up more than that! Now I know that doubling the recipe may be beneficial in the future.

Peach Cobler Muffins with Cinnamon Almond Topping

I want to know…

What do you do if you have fruit that needs to be used up?

Any tips/tricks/recipes to share?

