Tags

, , , ,

When Z and I moved in to our current house my Mom gave me her bread machine. She never used it anymore and thought perhaps it was something we would enjoy.

Breadman plus bread machine

Baking your own bread? That sounds complicated! The machine is a large contraption and kind of intimidating. Despite comments here and there of, “we should really try that some time” the bread machine has lived tucked away in a cabinet for the past year.

Recently all that changed. In my efforts to minimize wheat consumption I’ve turned to different forms of bread, most notably spelt. For those who may not know, spelt is a close cousin of wheat and is more easily tolerated by people with digestive issues.

Therefore I set out to try my hand at making my own spelt bread.

Homemade Spelt Bread from The Adventures of Z and K

The ingredients

I like the idea that baking bread myself allows me to easily control the ingredients.

Breads you find in the stores these days contain lots of additives. For example:

Trader Joe’s Organic Spelt Bread:

Organic whole spelt flour, water, organic cane sugar, contains less than 2% of each of the following: cultured organic spelt flour [for added freshness], organic distilled vinegar, organic molasses, salt, yeast, organic oat flour, organic sunflower oil, organic safflower oil, organic canola oil, enzymes, lactic acid, citric acid, organic reduced fat soy flour, ascorbic acid, organic soy lecithin. May contain traces of sesame seeds. (source).

Added vinegars, oils, enzymes, acids. These aren’t necessarily terrible ingredients, but bread CAN be more simple than that.

I found a recipe on Food.com for 100% spelt bread that consisted solely of the following:Homemade spelt bread ingredients

almond milk, olive oil, sugar, salt, spelt flour, yeast

That’s it!

The Steps

Combine all ingredients in the container of the bread machine.

Bread machine container

Program machine for “rapid whole wheat” with light crust.

Breadman plus bread machine

Three hours later and you’ll have this!Homemade spelt bread from bread machine

Homemade Spelt Bread for the Bread machine

Adapted from Food.com
Yield: 1lb loaf.

Ingredients

3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
2 1/4 teaspoons olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla coconut palm sugar (brown sugar substitute)
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
2 cups organic spelt flour
1 teaspoon bread machine yeast

STEPS

  1. Combine ingredients in order listed into machine.
  2. Program machine for “rapid whole wheat” bread.
  3. Use the “light crust” option.
  4. Let cook for ~3hrs.
  5. Remove, let cool, slice, enjoy!

Homemade spelt bread slicing

The Verdict

There’s nothing like homemade bread. Besides being as fresh as can be it makes the house smell amazing.

This bread was delightful. I used it for toast with breakfast topped with nut butter and banana as well as for sandwiches at lunch.

I’ve already started brainstorming variations: such as adding nuts and cinnamon for a sweet bread or savory spices such as oregano and fresh basil for an Italian inspired loaf.

The process was so easy that I never want to buy bread from the store again! There’s even a setting on for pizza dough—another endeavor I can’t wait to try.

K with homemade spelt bread

I encourage you to dig through your cabinets, find that pot/pan/utensil/gadget that you have been keeping in there and never used and give it a try! The results could surprise you!

I want to know…

Is there something hiding away in your kitchen that never gets used?

My Mom also gave use a yogurt maker. I have NO clue how that would work, but we have one!

