Tags

, , ,

I’ve seen tahini on the shelves of the grocery store for quite some time now. There it sits amongst the nut butters, but I’ve never been sure of the correlation. In truth, up until a couple weeks ago I had no idea what it was.

Once Again Organic Tahini

I’ve heard the name associated with middle eastern cuisine and thought it was something similar to hummus. I finally picked up a jar to see what it was about. The result: SESAME SEEDS!

That’s right, tahini is simply ground sesame seeds! Who knew?! Z and I grabbed a jar from Whole Foods and decided to give it a try.

I did a Google search for dressing recipes and found a lot of them had similar ingredients: ginger, lime, soy sauce and rice vinegar.

Those ingredients were all things I had on hand so for dinner I whipped up a sauce added it to a skillet of shrimp and zucchini.

The Recipe: Tasty Tahini Dressing

Tahini Dressing Recipe for Shrimp

The Verdict

Outstanding. Z was a definite fan and went back for seconds. I love love love ginger and enjoyed how it complimented the rest of the flavors. The sauce itself was light and not overpowering which made it a great summer dish.

Brown rice or quinoa would have been a perfect addition, but to tell you the truth I didn’t plan ahead and was too hungry to wait. Next time though, I’ll definitely throw some in as it would not only add whole grains to the meal but soak up the sauce nicely.

Hooray for trying something new!

p.s. I’m a fan of the Once Again line of nut butters and if you go to their site you can find lots of additional recipes that use tahini!

I want to know…

Have you ever used tahini before?

If so, what did you make with it?

Have you ever traveled to the Middle East?

