Tags

, , , , , ,

Today I wanted to share with you to how I kicked off my birthday week thanks to my wonderfully amazing friends….

Monday night Jenna hosted a birthday dinner for me. She had informed me earlier in the afternoon that it was just going to be her, Z and I. I found that odd (I KNOW Denise has Monday’s off…) but went with it. I arrived at her house and found more than just Jenna! K and friends at Birthday Dinner

There was apparently a secret Facebook event invitation that I didn’t know about. Surprise!

Wine goes with everything I wear napkin

Because she is the hostess with the mostess, Jenna had created FOUR separate menus (Mexican, Italian, Fresh Catch or Tapas)and sent them to me ahead of time. She allowed me to pick one of the four  and make any necessary adjustments in terms of taste and preference.

With all my stomach challenges this was SO sweet and much appreciated. Kerry's birthday dinner menus

So what did I choose? The “Fresh Catch” menu!K bday dinner quinoa zucchini shrimp

Sautéed shrimp + zucchini/summer squash + quinoa
(not pictured- side salad + white wine)

Jenna Z K Amy

Denise Beth and Sarah

A enjoyable meal with great company!

Then what would a birthday be without cake?! Denise, baker extraordinaire, went out of her way to make a gluten-free-FODMAP-friendly creation!Gluten free fodmap friendly birthday cake

She used gluten-free flour and subbed mashed banana for eggs. The result? A nice, dense perfectly sweet delight. K with birthday cake

In terms of birthdays I don’t want a huge party, I don’t enjoy a wild evening out at the bars. THIS was my kind of birthday. Good food, good friends…as simple as that.

K's surprise birthday dinner

I want to know…

What type of cake do you request on your birthday?

Have you ever done anything extravagant in terms of celebrating?

