Tags

, ,

For the past couple of weeks Z and I have taken a step back with regards to meal planning. I was starting to get overwhelmed trying to plan out the entire week with ambitious recipes each night. Ultimately there would be days where I didn’t feel like eating what I had planned and then I would worry that all the ingredients I bought for that meal would go to waste.

Therefore, we took a new approach: go to the store, buy our usual supplies, throw together dinner with what we had on hand based on whatever it is we were feeling.

Here are some of the results lately:

Shrimp Tacos w/ Cilantro-Lime Dressing

Recipe Source: Simple Food Healthy Life

The Verdict: Only alright. I played around with the proportions a bit and used my lactose-free yogurt instead of greek yogurt. In the end it was a bit watery and I could definitely taste the oil. Wouldn’t go out of my way to make again.

Shrimp Tacos with cilantro lime dressing on corn tortilla

COBB SALAD

Recipe Source: The mind of K & Z

The Verdict: So good! The salad consisted of…

Romaine + tomato + hardboiled egg + avocado + turkey bacon + splash of red wine vinegar.Cobb salad with romaine hardboiled egg turkey bacon avocado and tomato

Mahi Mahi w/ Pesto

Recipe Source: The mind of K & Z

The Verdict: Another winner! While Z was cooking up the fish, I set about on a mission to make a tasty topping. We had a bunch of basil to use up so I decided to blend it up into a pesto. Into the blender went…

basil + sun-dried tomatoes + roasted red pepper + pine nuts + tiiiiny bit of olive oil + splash of balsamic vinegar

Mahi Mahi w/ Pesto over quinoa with squash on side

The fish went on top of a bed of quinoa with sautéed squash on the side (simply seasoned with salt, pepper, basil and oregano).

As you can see, we were able to throw together three decent meals all by making game time decisions. Taking a break from highly detailed meal planning has been quite refreshing!

Do I know what I’m making for dinner tonight? No. But that’s ok! I’ll figure it out when we get there.

I’m starting off a 9-day stay-cation and my goal for the next week is to relax, enjoy and just go with the flow.

Enjoy your Friday everyone!

-K

p.s. I have not yet heard from the winner of the K’s Fave Giveaway. Please contact me by Sunday 7/7 otherwise I’ll go ahead and select a runner-up.

