Tags

, , , ,

I have a tasty snack recipe to share with you today!

Banana Bread Protein Muffins

A few weeks back I bought some protein powder in an attempt to give my smoothies a bit more staying power.

I went with a raw, plant based protein (a combo of cranberry, pea and hemp) due to the fact that I’m still trying to avoid anything dairy related. I had seen good reviews of this Sunwarrior brand so decided to give it a shot.

Sunwarrior Raw Protein Powder Vanilla

Now as you may know, when it comes to protein powders “small” is not a size. Instead you are forced to buy huge tubs of the stuff. Therefore I started on a search as to what other ways I could use the stuff.

A Pinterest search led me to a blog called “Southern In-Law” which featured a recipe for banana protein muffins. Since I had the ingredients on hand I went ahead and gave them a try.

Banana Bread Protein Muffins

Adapted From: Southern In-Law
Makes 12 low fat, high protein muffins. Gluten free! No-sugar added!

Ingredients

1/2 cup oat flour (I put old-fashioned oats in the blender)

3/4 cup Sunwarrior vanilla protein powder

1/4 cup almond flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp baking powder

2 medium bananas, mashed

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2C + 2 tbsp almond milk

cinnamon (as much or as little as you want)

(you could add some chocolate chips if you were feeling daring…1/4 cup?)

Steps

Preheat oven to 355°F.

Prepare a muffin tin by lightly greasing.

In a bowl combine the first 5 dry ingredients.

To dry ingredients, add in mashed banana, vanilla, milk and mix until combined.

If using, stir in chocolate chips and spoon out mixture into muffin tin.

Bake for ~20 minutes for muffins or until set and the edges start to pull in from the sides.

Allow to cool before slicing, eating, storing in the fridge or freezing.

**Note: I divided the batter over the entire tin for smaller thinner muffins. For larger more hearty ones, decrease serving size. Adjust baking time as necessary.

Banana Bread Protein Muffins | The Adventures of Z & K

Banana Bread Protein Muffins

The Verdict

These made for a great pre-workout snack! Although they’re small the combination of oats + fruit + protein kept me nice satisfied. Just a warning: the original recipe called for added sugar but I left it out so they are not overly sweet. You could certainly include stevia, maple syrup, honey, or whatever your sweetener of choice is!

