Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Z and I joined a gym this week! Well…kind of.

A couple of months ago I bought a Living Social deal for a 25 day gym membership. Maryland Athletic Club (MAC) is an upscale establishment located conveniently between home and work. I did a trial membership five or so years ago and it is indeed super nice.

Seeing the deal plus knowing that with the temps in the 90s these days my outdoor running motivation would be decreasing, I decided to go for it. We started on Wednesday and now Z may never want to leave…

SUNDAY

Yoga: Warm-Up

Workout: Blonde Ponytail’s GNC Toned Arms Workout + 5 Moves for a Solid Core.

Blonde ponytail workout

MONDAY

Yoga: Entire Body Stretch

Workout: 50 push-ups + 100 Tummy Tucks (see below) completed throughout day.

Tone it Up Tummy Tuck demo

TUESDAY

Rest.

WEDNESDAY

Yoga: Entire Body Stretch

Workout: Peanut Butter Finger’s “Beat Treadmill Boredom” workout.

Our first day at the gym! We figured why not use the treadmills seeing as how that’s not something we regularly have access to.

PB Fingers Beat Tredmill Boredom Workout

This workout was fast paced. Changing the incline made for quite a challenge. The guy a couple machines down gave us some weird looks as we hopped off and on every few minutes, but oh well!

The gym also has a bunch of  foam rollers so you better believe we took advantage of those before we left.

THURSDAY

Yoga: Before Bedtime Yoga (done right before hopping in to bed…ahhhh, relaxing).

FRIDAY

Workout: Barre conditioning class (FINALLY got to try it).

The gym was holding a class at 10am so after a productive morning around the house Z and I ventured to MAC. We parted ways once we got there—dance inspired workout for me, swim and sauna for him.

For those who may not know:

“Barre Strength is a fitness conditioning system that reshapes and reforms the body.  One class provides a total body workout by combining ballet barre conditioning, pilates, weight training , yoga and isometrics.” –Barre Strength

For most of the class my muscles were ON FIRE, but I loved it. I’ve come to realize that I’m just not a cross fitter, I’m not a “real” runner, I’m a dancer!

Here’s a look at some of the moves we did:

Barre Fitness

SATURDAY

Workout: Hiking!

We met up with our friend Sam for a hike at Gunpowder Falls State Park about 30 minutes outside of town.

Gunpowder Falls State Park

The weather was perfect: warm with a cool breeze, sunshine galore. We strolled and explored for about two hours in total. It was SO nice to get out of the city and in to nature. Ahhh…

Wow, what a varied week! I love that!

I get bored with the same old same old and find that I’m happiest when I have a variety of activities to keep me going and moving.

I want to know…

Did you do any fun outdoor activities this weekend?

