Tags

, , ,

While Z was away for two weeks at his National Guard training, I found myself with plenty of time at home which led me to channel my inner domestic goddess.

So much so that I went so far as to make my own bread. Yeah. I know. Who am I?

I came across a recipe for “Super Power Chia Bread” on a blog called Oh She Glows. I love chia seeds and I just happened to have all the ingredients on hand so I went ahead and gave it a try.

As always, you can find the exact recipe here, but the basic steps were as follows:

The Steps

One of the main components is oat flour. All that means is old-fashioned rolled oats blended into a fine powder. Why have I never used that before?! Such a great wheat alternative!

Make your own oat flour

Step 1: Combine ingredients into large bowl

The original recipe included pumpkin seeds, but I didn’t have any so just skipped it. I also do not use sugar (and therefore had none in the house) so just stuck a packet of stevia in the raw in there instead.

Also omitted: garlic/onion powder. They are not allowed around these parts.

chia bread ingredients

Once mixed, all a cup of water and mix altogether.

Step 2: pour mixture into 8×8 pan & Bake.

Set the oven at 325 and bake for 25 minutes.

Super Power Chia Bread

Step 3: REMOVE and LET COOL.

I left it for 10+ minutes while I tidied up the kitchen.

Super Power Chia Bread

STEP 3: Slice and Serve.

Sliced super power chia bread

WARNING: They are NOT large slices by any means. The bread is very thick and nutrient-dense, so the serving size is small.

Look at all that seed-y goodness!

Chia bread slice

I kept a few slices out and put the others in the freezer.

The Verdict

Tasty! I ate a small slice plain alongside my salad for lunch. As a snack, I popped on in the toasted oven and topped it with sunflower seed butter and pumpkin pie spice. Mmm.

Other topping options?

  • sliced turkey and avocado
  • hummus
  • goat cheese

This is a very dense bread, filled with protein rich chia and sunflower seeds. Not to mention the oats are a great source of fiber! It’s not the type of thing you use to make your sandwich at lunch, but can be a great snack option.

I want to know…

Have you ever made your own bread or crackers?

What type of toppings would YOU put on this bread?

