Tags

, , , , , ,

Cooking for one is a challenge. It’s all too easy to fall into a “ehh, I’ll just have a sandwich” mentality. With my Mom in town this past weekend we hit the food stores and stocked my kitchen so that while Z was away this week I’d have no excuse.

Here’s what was on the menu:

Sunday: Caprese Chicken Nachos

Recipe Source: Iowa Girl Eats
The Verdict: You can’t go wrong with tomatoes and basil…especially when you marinate them in balsamic vinegar for 30+ minutes. I subbed out flour tortillas for corn which I wouldn’t recommend. They ended up a bit tough for my liking.

balsamic tomatoes and basil with chicken and parmesan on tortillas caprese nachos

Monday: Slow Cooker Marinara + Veggies

Recipe Source: The Candid RD
The Verdict: This was a super simple dish to throw together before leaving for work in the morning. Chicken, zucchini, red pepper and tomato. My favorites!All I had to do when I got home was cook up some brown rice pasta and pour this lovely mixture on top!

Slow cooker chicken marinara and veggies

Tuesday: Fruit & Nut Salad

Recipe Source: My mind.
The Verdict: I didn’t feel like cooking so took a look in the fridge and threw together a salad consisting of farmer’s market spinach, strawberries, pineapple, toasted macademia nuts, and oven roasted turkey. All topped with a splash of red wine vinegar. It was light and delicious. Go me!

Spinach salad with strawberries pineapple macademia nuts

Wednesday: Zucchini “Noodles” with Shrimp

Recipe Source: My mind.
The Verdict: Sautéed zucchini noodles topped with balsamic shrimp, tomato and basil (yes caprese once again…welcome to summertime!).

*No picture. I was hungry. Oops.*

Thursday: Use up things in fridge day!

Recipe Source: My mind.
The Verdict: Canned salmon w/ dijon, salt and pepper on quinoa crispbreads. Sauteed zucchini w/ thyme and toasted sesame seeds. Baby sweet potato with pumpkin pie spice and drizzle of maple syrup. It was quite satisfying for just looking into the fridge and using up what I saw!  

salmon salad on quinoa crispbread with sauteed zucchini and swee t potato

Although I didn’t follow my initial meal plan exactly, I think I did a good job of incorporating recipes into the week as well as having some “fly by the seat of my pants” evenings.

Now off to plan a menu for the week ahead!

I want to know…

What was the best dinner you had this week?

What was the best thing…anything…you ate this week?

