Tags

, , , , ,

My love of sweets goes in stages.

For awhile it was s’mores. I would crave them and Z and I would make them quite frequently as our after dinner treat.

Then, there was any and all things animal cracker related. Shockingly, I haven’t had anything animal cracker related in over a month. My attempts at low FODMAP/gluten-free living have put them off limits and I no longer find myself craving them. Who would have thought that day would come?!

However over the course of the last couple of weeks a new craving emerged: chocolate chip cookies. I’m not sure why or where it came from. I’ve always considered them something I could take or leave.

Thanks to the land of Pinterest, I found myself a gluten-free/grain-free/low FODMAP option.

Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

I stumbled across the blog The Baboo. It was featured on FastPaleo.com which described them as “the best.” Now that’s quite a statement so of course I had to try them for myself.

A Pinterest search will yield many varieties of paleo chocolate chip cookies. All of them seem to involve the same basic ingredients with some minor tweaks here and there.

Here’s what I went with…

THE STEPS

STEP 1: Combine dry ingredients.

  • almond meal (1.5C)
  • baking soda(1/4tsp)
  • sea salt(1/4tsp).

Paleo chocolate chip cookie dry ingreidents

STEP 2: In a separate bowl mix together wet ingredients

  • coconut oil (2tbsp melted)
  • vanilla extract (1/2tsp)
  • maple syrup (1/2C room temp)
  • one egg (room temp).

STEP 3: Pour wet ingredients into dry, stir.

Paleo chocolate chip cookie batter

 STEP 4: Fold in chocolate chips, stir some more.

014

STEP 3: Place batter onto parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Paleo chocolate chip cookie batter ready to bake

STEP 4:  Bake at 350 for 5-7 minutes. Take them out, flatten slightly with spatula, return to oven for 5 or so minutes more.

Paleo chocolate chip cookie

STEP 5: Let cool, then eat!

Paleo chocolate chip cookie inside

THE RECIPE

Source: The Baboo, The Detoxinista
Makes: 10 small cookies

INGREDIENTS

Dry
1½ c almond meal
¼ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp sea salt
½ c chocolate chips (Chatfield or Enjoy Life brand)

Wet
2 tbsp coconut oil (melted)
½ tsp vanilla extract
½ c maple syrup (room temp)
1 egg (room temp)

DIRECTIONS

1. In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients.
2. In a separate bowl, mix together wet ingredients.
3. Add wet ingredients into dry, stir, then fold in chocolate chips.
4. Let batter sit in fridge for 30 minutes.
5. In the mean time, line baking sheet with parchment paper and preheat oven to 350.
6. Place batter onto sheet (making cookies as big/small as you would like).
7. Bake for 5-7 minutes. Remove from oven, flatten slightly, then return to oven for 5 minutes more.
8. Let cool completely. Eat. Enjoy!

Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies on plate

THE RESULT

Oh-my-gosh-amazing.

The exact taste that I was hoping for and all without the use of grains or dairy. They were crisp on the outside and slightly chewy on the inside. Love love love.

You know another thing I love? Z. This was solidified by the fact that after running out of them, he made another batch during the day while I was at work. His batch was even better than mine!

I’ve already started brainstorming variations that could include incorporating flavored almonds and coconut flakes into the batter. Mmmmm. So many possibilities!

Paleo Choc Chip Cookie with almond milk

I want to know…

What is the best chocolate chip cookie you’ve ever had? Homemade? Store bought? With nuts or without?

