Tags

, , , ,

As I mentioned in yesterday’s workout recap, this time last week I was lacing up the running shoes and heading to the first annual “Special Operations Memorial Day 5K.”

Special Ops Memorial Day 5k Logo

The event was put on by Boston Street Running, a new store in the area. The race took place just around the corner from me so I couldn’t pass it up.

The Cause

Navy Seal Foundation Logo

The Navy Seal Foundation provides support to the families of active-duty service members. They help cover costs of everything from memorial services to regular home maintenance to education scholarships for children. They also host pre and post deployment retreats, family days and other support programs.

The Location

The race started at 8am. We arrived at 7:30 and were greeted with this view.

American Flag over Boston Street in Canton Maryland

Z and I were supposed to be doing the race together but a last minute change in his work schedule took him away. Thankfully I found two other willing participants:

Special Operations 5K- Allison Denise and K

This was actually Allison’s very first race! Denise is an old pro at 5Ks and well, you know I enjoy a good 3.1 mile jaunt every now and again.

Keeping up with tradition we found patriotic socks for the occasion. I also chose to wear one of Z’s Marine Corps shirts from his Afghanistan deployment…a subtle tribute, but it meant a lot to me.

Denise Allison and K with patriotic socks

The Course

The race got started right at 8am and traveled 3.1 miles along the water through Canton. The route was flat as can be which is OK with me!

Special Operations 5K course map Canton Maryland

There were all kinds of people running the race: kids and their parents, veterans, current Baltimore City police and firemen…and us. We kept a good pace, just over 9.5 min/miles. I started to get a cramp around mile 2 that I attribute to not hydrating enough that morning. It caused me pain the rest of the time but I pushed through.

The Finish

My time ended up being 29:41. My goal these days is to maintain under 30, so I was pleased.

There were lots of refreshments available: fruit, bagels, water coffee, even gluten-free granola bar options. I made a beeline to the VitaCoco tent and treated myself to a delightfully delicious pineapple-coconut water.

Post race accomodations

We couldn’t stay long because Allison and I had to get to work, but we did manage to snap a celebratory picture before we left.

Allison Denise and I thumbs up for racing

The Verdict

All in all a nice race, great cause. An awesome way to start and celebrate Memorial Day.

Here’s a recap from the local news station! <—Video included!

