Tags

, , , , ,

Back in the day, I WAS NOT a fan of seafood. A self-proclaimed “terrestri-tarian,” I shied away from anything that swam or lived in a shell. It wasn’t a higher-calling/moral beacon type of thing but rather I just didn’t like the taste.

All that changed one summer when my Mom prepared shrimp skewers to bring to a potluck picnic.

I don’t remember what possessed me to give them a try, but I’m sure glad I did. To this day they are the tastiest shrimp I’ve ever had.

Honey Lime Cilantro Grilled Shrimp | The Adventures of Z & K

Mom’s Honey Cilantro Lime Shrimp

Adapted from: Rachel Ray’s Grilled Honey Lime Chicken Sandwich

INGREDIENTS

1 lb bag of shrimp (any size)
1 lime, juiced
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp honey
1 tsp cumin
A handful cilantro (Mom uses a LARGE handful), finely chopped

INSTRUCTIONS

Once shrimp are peeled, combine in a bowl with the rest of the ingredients. Let sit and marinate for 10-15 minutes.

In the mean time, fire up the grill to a medium heat.

Mom has made them two different ways before, each has its benefits:

  1. Wooden skewers:
    • Pro– Skewers make it super easy to flip during cooking.
    • Con– This method takes a lot of preparation as the skewers need to be soaked in water for a long period of time (I found recommendations from 20 minutes to 2 hours) to prevent burning. Threading the shrimp onto the skewers can be tedious as well.
  2. Mesh grill basket:
    • Pro– Quick preparation. Just throw them in the pan!
    • Con– Pain to flip as you have to go through one at a time.

Regardless of how you prepare them, they only need to cook for a few minutes (~3-5) on each side until done.

Serve room temperature, or better yet cold (!).  While this may seem odd, I found the flavors to be more intense after they were in the refrigerator for awhile.

Now that Memorial Day has come and gone and grilling season has officially begun, go ahead and give these guys a try. Enjoy!

-K

