Tags

, , , , ,

After all the talk of juicing in those documentaries I mentioned yesterday, I was inspired to revisit my love of smoothies.

Carrot Pineapple Ginger Smoothie from The Adventures of Z and K

When I was in New York recently I picked up a bottle of Lakewood 100% carrot juice to try out of curiosity.

Lakewood Pure Carrot Juice

While V8 /tomato juice in general isn’t really my cup of tea, I figured the natural sweetness of carrots would make it more palatable.

The result? Not bad! I ended up mixing in some fresh grated ginger which added a nice touch.

I figured that in the wide world of the internet there must be a smoothie recipe out there that involved the stuff. Ask and you shall receive!

In my search I came across a blog dedicated entirely to smoothies called, A Smoothie A Day, which follows a woman name Julie and her New Year’s Resolution to make a smoothie a day for an entire year.

She had a recipe for  “Carrot, Ginger, Pineapple & Kale” that sounded like just what I was looking for. I altered the proportions of the original recipe slightly to include more carrot and  more ginger.

Here’s what I threw in the blender….

Carrot Ginger Pineapple Smoothie

Recipe adapted from A Smoothie A Day

Makes two smaller servings or one very large one.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 frozen banana

1 C frozen pineapple

1’’ piece of fresh ginger, peeled (plus some extra at the end for more of a kick)

1/2 C plain Greek yogurt

2/3 C 100% organic carrot juice

2 TBSP pecans

Handful of spinach

Carrot Smoothie

The Verdict

I enjoyed it so much that I made them for Z and I to take to work as snacks TWO different times that week. I love the taste of ginger so any time I can find something to add it to I get excited. Combine that with the opportunity to sneak some hidden veggies into my mid-morning snack and you’ve got yourself a winner!

Sure it isn’t the most photogenic thing I’ve ever made, but the taste is light and refreshing so it completely makes up for it.

I want to know…

Have you ever made a smoothie with vegetables? Would you?

What is your favorite smoothie to make? Leave a link to any fun recipes you have in the comments below?

