Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been a month since we decided to ditch the DISH and I have to say I don’t miss it. It’s been a refreshing change not to be glued to the tv from 6-9pm every night out of habit.

One thing that Z and I have started getting in to are documentaries. Yeah, I know that makes us sound nerdy/old but we’ve found some really great educational/inspirational ones involving health, wellness and nutrition.

I learned a lot from these films and found myself going over the information in my mind, further analyzing, and discussing with others long after they were over.

Here’s what we’ve watched so far. I highly recommend checking them out!

Supersize Me

Super Size Me Documentary Movie Poster

“While examining the influence of the fast food industry, Morgan Spurlock personally explores the consequences on his health of a diet of solely McDonald’s food for one month. “

HIGHLIGHTS:

  • 1 in 4 Americans eats fast food daily
  • Obesity is the #2 cause of preventable death (right behind smoking).
  • Fast food restaurants target kids at an early age (think Happy Meals, Play Places, clown mascots) in order to get them hooked.
  • The results of Morgan Spurlock eating nothing but McDonalds for 30 days: 24.5lb gained, 2x more likely for heart failure, mood swings, depression, liver complications.

WATCH THE TRAILER:

Suepr Size Me

Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

Fat Sick & Nearly Dead Movie Poster

“With doctors and conventional medicines unable to help long- term, Joe turns to the only option left, the body’s ability to heal itself. He trades in the junk food and hits the road with juicer and generator in tow, vowing only to drink fresh fruit and vegetable juice for the next 60 days. Across 3,000 miles Joe has one goal in mind: To get off his pills and achieve a balanced lifestyle.”

HIGHLIGHTS:

  • By harnessing the nutrient power of foods we have the potential to alleviate our dependency on medication.
  • 61% of the American diet is processed foods—oils, sugar, flour. These foods do not have even one tenth of the original nutrients that were in the food in its native state.
  • Many Americans live by the philosophy–“I’m here for a few good years. I’m gonna eat what I want and if I die at 55 great.” These individuals remain resistant to making healthy alterations to their diets despite the promise of significantly increasing their life.

WATCH THE TRAILER:

Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

Hungry For Change

Hungry for Change Movie Poster

Exposes shocking secrets the diet, weight loss and food industry don’t want you to know about; deceptive strategies designed to keep you coming back for more. Find out what’s keeping you from having the body and health you deserve and how to escape the diet trap forever.” (source)

HIGHLIGHTS:

  • Our ancestors were hunters and gatherers. We are naturally programmed to seek out fats and sugars. Our lifestyles are now more sedentary but these tendencies still exist.
  • Diets don’t work, because they are temporary. They have failure built right in to them.
  • “The average American consumes more than 150 pounds of sugar and sweeteners each year.” “Sugar is the cocaine of the food industry.”
  • Your body wants to work with you, not against you. Adverse reactions are your body’s way of attempting to heal itself. Help it along by giving it the proper tools (nutrient rich foods, rest, hydration, etc.)

WATCH THE TRAILER:

Hungry For Change Trailer

Food For Thought

After watching these documentaries I’ll have to admit I was fired up!

I was angry at the food industry for manipulating people in order to sell their product and make money. I was appalled by the fact that people would choose eating a cheeseburger now over living a longer life and spending more time with their families. I was amazed at the healing power of natural foods. I was inspired to grow my own garden.

Yes, that’s a lot of emotions, but I suppose that’s what any good movie should bring out.

I’ve realized that I truly have a passion for food and nutrition and I look forward to continuing to educate myself and those around me. Every little bit helps.

