Tags

, , , , ,

Before a few weeks ago my knowledge of Jamie Oliver was limited: I knew he was a celebrity chef and I knew he had an accent. That’s about it.

051I then watched his TED talk about nutrition in America and specifically in our schools. If you haven’t seen it I recommend it. The talk is 21 minutes and I guarantee you will walk away with a new appreciation for this man.

I recently had a chance to browse through his Food Revolution cookbook and loved pretty much everything I came across. The recipes are easy, fresh and nutritious.

One in particular that caught my eye was for a “Rice Salad.” Comprised of rice and fresh herbs he encouraged its use as a substitute for store bought, pre-packaged potato or macaroni salad.

Seeing as how I had fresh herbs on hand at home, I was inspired.

Fresh Herb Quinoa - The Adventures of Z and K

The Recipe

As adapted from Jamie Oliver

INGREDIENTS

Quinoa

Fresh basil

Fresh cilantro

Fresh parsley

1 Roasted red pepper

1 Lemon

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Cook quinoa according to package instructions.
  2. Finely chop herbs and red pepper.
  3. Juice lemon.
  4. Combine quinoa, herbs and lemon in large bowl and mix.
  5. Add lemon zest, salt and pepper to taste.
  6. EAT!

001

THE VERDICT

LOVED. So light and fresh. The simplicity of the dish really allowed the flavor of the herbs to shine in my opinion. This would be perfect to bring to a potluck picnic in the summer.

Another bonus is that you can customize it to whatever you have at the moment. Don’t have quinoa? Use brown rice! No roasted red pepper? Use tomato!

I can easily see this becoming a summer staple in the K & Z household…

