Tags

, ,

By now you’ve probably seen the Dove Sketch Artist promo. If you haven’t, you must.

Dove Real Beauty Sketches

The Premise

Women were asked to describe themselves to a police sketch artist who created an image based on their description of themselves.

A stranger was then asked to describe that same woman.

The result? Eye opening…

Dove Real Beauty Sketches

“We spend a lot of time as women analyzing and trying to fix the things that aren’t quite right…and we should spend more time appreciating the things we do like.”

My Own Worst Enemy

I can’t help but agree that as women we are our own toughest critic. I am certainly guilty of this. How would I describe myself if I was in the position these women were??

I once had a caricature drawn on an 8th grade trip to Madrid, Spain. I remember being so concerned that the artist was going to draw and embellish the zit that I had on my chin. To me, it was the size of a house. Looking at this picture now, I don’t even see it.

Kerry caricature madrid spain

I’m guilty of looking in the mirror and focusing on things I wish I could change.

I’m guilty of feeling self-conscious.

I’m guilty of brushing off “you’re beautiful” comments from Z simply because I don’t believe them.

That is why this video really hit home for me. I can relate to these women. Maybe you can too.

You Are Beautiful

So how do we fix this problem?….not easily. Changing the mind-set, habits and views that women have held on to for years is a daunting task. That being said, I think it’s so great that Dove is supporting a “you are more beautiful than you think” initiative.

As a member of the overly-critical women’s club, I will strive to do my best to start embracing the positive instead of focusing on the negative. image

I can only hope you join me and do the same.

To all of you reading this: You are beautiful.

Funny Reminders Ecard: You are beautiful. Don't let anyone tell you different. Unless it's 'You are beautiful AND wildly intelligent

