Tags

, , ,

You may have noticed by now that I like to experiment with pizza crusts:

Sweet Potato Crust

Zucchini Crust

Zucchini Crust Pizza

Well, last week I came across a “DIY: Gluten-Free Pizza” recipe on MindBodyGreen.com and thought it could be fun to try.

The low FODMAP guidelines that I’m attempting to follow suggest eliminating wheat when possible, so a crust made primarily of almond flour was right up my alley. homemade gluten free pizza crust

The Process

I certainly cannot take credit for this recipe so hop on over to MindBodyGreen.com for the exact specifications. Here’s a general overview:

STEP 1:  Combine dry ingredients in a bowl.

pizza crust ingredients

STEP 2: Prepare wet ingredients. These included 1/2 cup of plain Greek yogurt and one egg. Whisk together.

STEP 3: Mix ingredients to form dough. Spread out on parchment paper.

*The dough was EXTREMELY sticky. I sprinkled some additional almond flour over the top which made it manageable.

Make your own gluten free pizza crust

STEP 4:  Bake for 25 minutes, until edges are slightly browned.

Make your own gluten free pizza crust

STEP 5: Add toppings.

I was indecisive, so I went with “A Tale of Two Pizzas”.

OLIVE OIL + TOMATO + FRESH BASIL + CHICKEN + MOZZARELLA

Toppings for your gluten free pizza crust

BBQ sauce + pineapple + chicken + swiss

STEP 5: Bake 10 additional minutes to melt everything together.

Toppings for your gluten free pizza crust

STEP 6: EAT!

Homemade Gluten Free Pizza

The Verdict

Phenomenal.

Z could not stop raving about it. The crust had so much flavor and complimented the toppings as opposed to just being a vehicle for them.

While you can never go wrong with caprese flavors, the BBQ-pineapple won in my opinion.

Homemade Gluten Free Pizza

I love being able to take historically bad-for-you foods and making fresh/healthier alternatives. Not only did this pizza feature fresh veggies and a protein-packed crust, but minimal cheese. I only ended up using 1/2 slice of swiss total! With all the other delicious flavors going on there’s no need to load up on it.

Another recipe to add to the “must make again” list!

I want to know…

Do you prefer to make your own pizza or order in?

Where do you go for THE BEST pizza?

