Tags

, , , ,

As I mentioned last Friday, my meal plans for this past week were rather simple due to the fact that Z was busy with National Guard training and wasn’t sure if he’d make it home for dinner.

So while I don’t necessarily have artistically hand-crafted dinner entrees to show you, I DO have a handy dandy method of salmon preparation to share.

I had picked up salmon from Trader Joe’s but had no idea what I wanted to do with it.

Trader Joe's Sockeye Salmon Fillets

A quick search led me to a Food Network recipe courtesy of Giada De Laurentis. That lady knows her stuff so I figured I’d give it a try.

The Process

STEP 1: Prepare salmon.

For starters I cut this whopper of a fish into three smaller portions. Brush with olive oil, salt and pepper. Place oiled side down on a piece of aluminum foil.

STEP 2: Prepare topping.

I strayed from the exact recipe proportions and used: 20 grape tomatoes, 1 freshly juiced lemon, a sprinkle of oregano, thyme, salt and pepper.

Tomato and lemon juice salmon topping

STEP 3: Prepare packets.

Top each piece of salmon with the tomato mixture. Close up packet. Salmon Baked in Foil Packet

Salmon Baked in Foil Packet

STEP 4: Place packets on a cookie sheet and bake at 400 for 25 minutes.

Salmon Baked in Foil Packet

STEP 5: Eat!

I served it with a side of balsamic-basil quinoa.

Salmon Baked in Foil Packet topped with tomato and lemon juice with balsamic basil quinoa

The Verdict

Excellent! The fact that each piece of fish had its own little packet allowed the flavors of the tomatoes and lemon to be absorbed quite nicely.  You could certainly customize this recipe using various other toppings as well (roasted red peppers maybe?).

Not to mention one of the best parts: clean-up was a breeze!

We’ve been having so much tilapia around here lately that I forgot how much I liked salmon! What made it even better was that I didn’t have to stand over a grill or a stove to cook it! I’ll certainly be on the lookout for more easy as can be recipes like this in the future!

Hmmm, now what shall we have for dinner this week…

I want to know…

What is your favorite type of fish to eat?

Any salmon recipes to share?

